It’s almost time for the reading frenzy!

badge_generic

This is the fourth year I have been involved in judging a writing contest held by Critique My Novel. Writers come to CMN for constructive critiques and  recommendations for ways to improve their writing prior to self-publication. We read the first 10,000 words of their manuscript and give our impressions. Some of our judges are writers, some are editors, and some, like me, are just people who love to read.

There are 3 categories, Apprentice, Masters, and Nonfiction. The Apprentice category is for beginners, writers still learning the craft. Masters are writers who have more experience, written more than one novel or who have put in the time to make sure their entry is concise, well written and hopefully void of grammar errors. The Nonfiction category includes memoirs, biographies, narrative nonfiction or other nonfiction manuscripts. This is our first year to add the Nonfiction category.

The top ten submissions will be listed on CMN’s webpage. We also have a panel of literary agents who have volunteered their services. They will read and give feedback to the top three submissions of the Master and Nonfiction categories. They have the option of requesting more of the manuscript from those writers. Visit the judges page to see bios of the judges and agents involved this year.

The frenzy comes from reading several hundred submissions in a short period of time. The fun comes from getting to read and experience new stories in many genres I might not necessarily read otherwise. The hard work comes in offering feedback and constructive criticism to help each writer strengthen their work. Check out what writers had to say about last year’s contest.

Tell everyone you know to stop by for a visit.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in writing, personal, blog, culture, religion, humor, inspiration, people, American, musings, miscellaneous, social, Christianity, economy, reflections, faith, poetry,. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s almost time for the reading frenzy!

  1. kmoser56 says:

    Thank you for this! I’ve had the poor habit of just skimming these days, but this is GREAT,Estherlou! I appreciate it. I appreciate your talent! (And your blog posts…!)

    Like

Leave a comment