Facebook saved my son’s life: My social network helped diagnose my son’s rare disease. – By Deborah Copaken Kogan – Slate Magazine

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

Facebook saved my son’s life: My social network helped diagnose my son’s rare disease. – By Deborah Copaken Kogan – Slate Magazine. This is an amazing article. Her son woke up with a rash. Having been notified by school of strep going around, she took her son to the clinic to be tested. The test was negative, but they started him on antibiotic anyway. His fever kept rising, his face started swelling, and then they thought he might have scarlet fever, or the flu. Mom posted updates and pics on Facebook to keep family and friends current. Her son continued to deteriorate. The latest updated picture on Facebook brought two comments of a rare disease and urgings to go to the hospital. Unsure, but worried, the mother took him to the hospital and they tested him for Kawasaki disease, a rare and sometimes fatal auto-immune disorder that attacks the coronary arteries surrounding the heart. Sure enough, he had Kawasaki disease and liver damage. He spent 3 weeks in the hospital, but was alive thanks to Facebook. What an amazing story!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facebook saved my son’s life: My social network helped diagnose my son’s rare disease. – By Deborah Copaken Kogan – Slate Magazine

  1. I have a similar story which isn’t as dramatic but still bears some similarities. Last winter, I started feeling sick but didn’t think it was anything serious. I mentioned my symptoms on my blog. One of my readers is a nurse in California. “Call an ambulance NOW!” he wrote to me. “This sounds like a cardiac episode.” I’d had heart issues as a child, so I got scared and called an ambulance.

    It turned out that my reader was completely right. It was heart-related and the doctors congratulated me on getting to the hospital at such an early stage. So it turns out that blogging helped me avoid serious health problems.

    Like

Leave a Reply

