Stillness

iStock_000007706240Small

If you look up ‘stillness’ in a thesaurus, here are some of the words you find. 

  • calmness
  • serenity
  • tranquility
  • calm
  • inactivity
  • noiselessness
  • peace
  • quiet
  • quietness

Just reading the list makes me roll my eyes. There is so much on the list that sounds impossible. And it addresses not just physical stillness but mental stillness as well.

For several years before I retired, I found it very difficult to sit still and just watch tv without doing something with my hands. At work, I was a wedding cake decorator. I was constantly doing something with my hands; making fondant accents, icing cookies, icing and decorating a cake, making candy. There was no such thing as being still and there never seemed to be enough hours in the work day to get everything necessary done.

When I spent my days off, I often felt odd, like I should be making something or doing something with my hands. Even now, I usually am making a rosary, or a piece of jewelry, or typing on my computer. It is only if I want to really concentrate on a new movie that I can just sit and watch.

Stillness of mind is even more difficult. It is just not something that comes easy with most of us. Our minds are always churning and pondering and cogitating on something. To read a devotional or to read the Bible, or to pray, it is often difficult to quiet our minds and get rid of outside thoughts enough so we can concentrate on the present moment.

Even when I’m working on something, there is something else happening. I usually have the tv on as background, or music. Even when I nap I have music on. I remember spending time laying in the grass looking at clouds, but I was a child then. One of my favorite things to do was to take a long soak in a bubble bath. I miss those days.

Perhaps it is time to search for some stillness in our lives. We need to refresh ourselves and have quiet to gain perspective and to recharge. It is a way have balance in our day-to-day lives. Look for some quiet time, or at least some alone time. We need that to stay healthy and to stay sane. We are just as important as everyone else in our lives, and they will like us better when we can remain balanced. Stillness? I’ll have to try it.

relax-breathe-dream-smile

This was prompted by The Sandbox Challenge

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in writing, personal, blog, culture, religion, humor, inspiration, people, American, musings, miscellaneous, social, Christianity, economy, reflections, faith, poetry,. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

