Balance? Riiiight…

o-BALANCE-SCALE-facebook

Balance? Everyone talks about it. It sometimes appears to come easily to others. Have a career? be a mom? spend time with siblings? take time for yourself? Give to spouse? Volunteer? Keep up with chores?

Sometimes we feel we are being pulled in a million directions. And something has to suffer. It’s a given. You have to learn to walk on those slippery step stones, taking one step at a time, shifting, and just keep from falling.

Everyone learns to juggle just to remain sane. I have compiled my list.

  • Pray a lot. Make a prayer closet. Read a daily devotional. Always add something into the day to get you started and a place to deposit the junk of the day at night so you can get good rest and begin again.
  • Stay mentally organized. (you notice I said mentally.) If you start melting down when surroundings get too cluttered, try keeping the clutter to a manageable level. Pick up after yourself. Put things in their proper place when finished with them. Keep your work area organized and periodically get rid of something that has accumulated and takes up space. It will make you feel better and lessen the stress and frustration.
  • Pray a lot.
  • Avoid drama. There will always be drama in your life whether it is at home or at work. Avoid the unnecessary drama. Don’t get sucked into the life drama of every single person you know. You can only affect what’s in your own life. Otherwise, it’s just gossip and some of it will be depressing. You can be sympathetic, understanding and can offer empathy without opening yourself up to be Dr. Phil or Father Confessor.
  • Pray a lot.
  • Smile. Smiling at someone will coax your own mood to rise. Tell someone they look nice today. Use simple courtesy like thank you and I appreciate that. It will touch others on many levels. It will smooth the mood of your surroundings.
  • Pray a lot.
  • Listen to calming music. Listening to rap or metal will NOT keep you calm. It is designed to agitate the senses. How about oldies or instrumental? Personally, I prefer Christian. I can get encouragement and be uplifted while I jam in my chair. Listen to something affirming on cd. I sometimes listen to the audio Bible. Anything that can become background and not stimulate you is what you are looking for. An oasis in the storm.
  • Pray a lot.
  • Learn to say no. Sometimes we agree to take on more than is humanly possible and we tell ourselves we’ll figure it out somehow. Too many ‘irons in the fire’ just causes extra stress. It’s hard enough focusing on the important things without stealing time and energy to stick somewhere else, especially if we dread doing it or recognize it’s going to be sloppy. It’s all important? Then you have to take a step back, decide which is MORE important and prioritize. Let others help you accomplish tasks. You are only one person and you have to learn what your limits are. You really aren’t Wonder Woman or Superman.
  • Pray a lot.
  • Make absolutely sure you steal some time for yourself. A bubble bath. A manicure. A steam. A run. A nap. You have to be able to give to yourself and get refreshed before you can give to others.
  • Pray a lot.

What works for me might not work for you. That teeter totter some of us live on moves with every breath we take. You have to find out what works for you. Things will only get better when you strive for the balance.

 

This was prompted by the sandbox writing challenge.

 

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in writing, personal, blog, culture, religion, humor, inspiration, people, American, musings, miscellaneous, social, Christianity, economy, reflections, faith, poetry,. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Balance? Riiiight…

  1. LOL! Words of wisdom there! Just pray a lot, everything else will come out in the wash 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge #41 — What in the World??? | Impromptu Promptlings

  3. calensariel says:

    Good grief! I got tired just reading all that! I can balance, um…, three things each day. o_O

    Like

Leave a Reply

