Life has shifted once again

morningBecause of or despite my mobility issues, I already had a routine established. I can get out of bed without help, visit the bathroom, fix my breakfast, gather water and lunch type snacks and then settle into my ‘spot’ in the living room to spend the day. I blog, read blogs, watch tv, play Yahtzee or solitaire or Big Farm, make jewelry or make rosaries. I usually have a nap during the day and do my daily leg exercises etc. Hubby gets home from work in the late afternoon and fixes supper and I spend the evening with my daughter/part-time caregiver.

tomotherapy1Now that I am visiting the Cancer Center on a daily basis, my schedule has changed. I go for radiation treatments Monday through Friday. I have chemo every Tuesday. Now that I am forced to be out, I have visited the bead section of Hobby Lobby, had lunch at the Tri-State Fair and worn myself out.

CHEMOAdded to that is the normal for everyone adjustment to how your body is affected by the radiation and the treatments. The first week, 3 days after chemo is when I started experiencing discomfort, nausea, some bowel irritation etc. and didn’t know if it was treatment related or my normal once-in-awhile time to drink/eat probiotics. I had extreme nausea for almost 3 days until I went back the next week and got more drugs.

After the second week of treatments, I once again spent the weekend with nausea and extreme gurgling and gas pains roiling around until it exploded in a bit of excitement for me. But the extreme gas pains was the worst and very painful. Spent 2 days like that and got better with diarrhea meds and anti nausea meds.

I am seeing that it is the little problems that can wear you down. It isn’t even that you are now living with the Big C. That seems so foreign and so abstract, it doesn’t seem real and doesn’t seem to touch me yet, except I get radiation 5 days a week and chemo once a week. It is an odd situation.

fatigue-clipart-vector-of-a-cartoon-exhausted-wind-up-businesswoman-coloring-page-outline-by-ron-leishman-13635Besides that, there are sometimes unexpected mood swings, all typical in a woman’s normal existance, except I am many years past menopause so it was a surprise. Then there is fatigue, but I am getting out every day now when before I didn’t, so is it treatment-related yet? or just exertion? Hard to differentiate.

I only have 3 or 4 more weeks of treatment unless things change, so I guess we will see what happens and how things progress. So far, it is exciting not to be throwing up. If I can stay out of the bathroom as well, it will be all good. Till next time…

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in writing, personal, blog, culture, religion, humor, inspiration, people, American, musings, miscellaneous, social, Christianity, economy, reflections, faith, poetry,. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life has shifted once again

  1. grannyK says:

    I am so sorry you have to go through this! I do hope it all turns out well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

