Are you Artsy-Fartsy?

AA2109Are you what I call artsy fartsy? You know what I mean. You are always finding new things to make, to create, to paint, to crochet… whatever. I’ve learned over the years that family and friends will only tolerate your creations for so long and then they are done. But I can’t seem to stop!

I was always interested in painting but was never able to take any classes. When Donna Dewberry appeared, I got all excited. I painted tables and lamps and bars of soap and mailboxes. I painted wooden boxes and vases. I even painted  the bellows on my fireplace that you use to blow on your fire. Family brought all kinds of things home from garage sales for me to paint. But, what was I supposed to do with the stuff? Sometimes it is hard to find that group of people who love hand crafted or hand designed one of a kind pieces of art or decorative items.024

I decorated cakes for almost 30 years. But my idea of fun was never to slave over a hot oven and let strangers come over to pick up a cake. That leaves working for someone else for a salary. I loved the creative side of decorating. I loved working with fondant and making bows and frills and pearls. I loved learning new scrollwork or lace decorative methods but it is long hours for not a lot of money. You have to love it to stick with it as long as I did, but you can get tired of anything after too long.

008 (4)I learned to make rosaries. I fell in love with the feel of making something with my own hands. I loved learning how to twist the wire and encompass the beads until I had something beautiful as well as useful for personal prayer. I made mission rosaries to give away to faraway places and got a lot of satisfaction from knowing I was helping to spread prayer all over the world. Arthritis and carpel tunnel in my hands caused me to quit for a while.

I crocheted afghans. I loved buying new skeins of yarns. Such colors. Such textures. My closet was overflowing with bags of yarn. I would start one project and then see something else I wanted to try until I had bags full of started afghans. Even when I finished one, my mother had crocheted for years and beat me to the family at giving out gifts. Arthritis and the attention span of a turtle caused me to move on to something else.

I hand painted some Christmas cards. I sewed. I did embroidery and tried needlepoint. I even tried petit point…omg how tedious. I moved on to reading and became a couch potato and an armchair activist and found Harvest Moon and Animal Crossing and Big Farm. Time passed.

030But the one sure thing about artsy fartsy people is, they always have to be doing something with their hands. Now I am making jewelry. Playing in my beads again. I began with rosaries since I knew how to do that and it was satisfying. I then moved on to earrings. Then necklaces. Then sets. Then I discovered bracelets. Who knew bracelets could be so much fun? I love cuff bracelets. I love bangle bracelets and I love memory wire bracelets. I made ankle bracelets. How cool. And now I am making rings to go with all the other jewelry items I am making. I really love making something out of nothing and seeing a beautiful decorative piece of jewelry come to life.

070So what do I do with all the stuff? A girl can only wear one pair of earrings at a time. And my ideas can make more bracelets than anyone could ever wear. The answer is to try to sell some of it. I don’t intend to get rich. I just want to sell a few things so I can buy more wire and more beads. I have to be able to make more stuff! LOL

I discovered Etsy. It is a worldwide online storefront of many people selling their things. Who knew? But, you can open up a new storefront and sell your creative endeavors. Do you paint? Do you make cards? Do you crochet mittens? Do you make bookmarks? Do you decorate lamps? Whatever you do that others admire, can be sold. When you go to etsy you get 40 FREE listings. That means, one listing for each product you put into your store. I started my etsy store with 12 rosaries and then went crazy. If you think you would like to try this, click here.

Facebook_Revised (1)So to all those artsy fartsy people out there, jump on in…the water’s fine. I’m having fun and selling a few things and getting to be creative in the process. Join me…it doesn’t hurt to try.

Fotor0619142229

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in writing, personal, blog, culture, religion, humor, inspiration, people, American, musings, miscellaneous, social, Christianity, economy, reflections, faith, poetry,. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

