Small Update

still-a-way-to-goI find myself not writing because my world is so small and self involved that I can’t imagine anyone interested in reading about my day. But there are a few of you out there who sometimes ask how I am doing and want to be kept in the loop.

I went to the doctor about a week and a half ago. I always dread going to the doctor. My everyday tasks, transferring from chair to bed, from chair to bathroom, etc. are things I am used to. But transferring to wheelchair and then from wheelchair to a car is difficult. There are less hand holds and the car doors in most cars don’t open wide enough to get my walker into the opening enough to help me. I find myself trying to support my whole weight with one arm held awkwardly in and out of a door window or something while trying to shuffle backwards enough to reach the seat so I can plop down. Doesn’t sound that major, but I end up using a lot of extra energy and muscles that I don’t usually use as well as straining the already weak knees. And then there are the unusual gyrations needed to getting an exam. The result is usually a good week of regaining my strength and recovery afterwards. In the meantime, my ordinary every day tasks become mountains to climb once again. Everything is once again difficult, sometimes needing extra help and I have to fight against getting discouraged from the backward steps I seem to have taken.

Rottenecards_36476476_6ttcfk6sftWhen you are fighting against age and immobility there are always times of one step forward and three steps back. It is something you learn to live with. And you learn to recognize the tiny successes. Today, the knees didn’t buckle when I transferred from bed to walker threatening to drop me to the floor. That is a great thing! Or, today, it only took one try to get up from the love seat and into my chair on the way to bed.

The biggest struggle is to continue to celebrate those very small steps forward and sluff off the bigger steps backwards. As long as there is recognizable forward momentum, it’s all good. But enough of the depressing stuff.

008I’m still making jewelry. I’ve slowed down a bit because my drawer of finished items is getting full. I am making more than I am selling, but I am still selling a few pieces. I learned how to make ankle bracelets and that was fun. I learned how to make memory wire bracelets recently, finding out that is what a beginner with no experience can do easily. It was simple and fun. A good way to use up small quantities of left over beads to make something pretty.

024I enjoy watching the YouTube teaching videos and learned a lot and experimented a lot. I have more earrings than I could wear ever, but I’m learning a lot and improving with every project. I find that ideas come to me from something I saw and in how I could try something a different way. I usually come up with very nice items that make me proud.

I got a surprise visit the other day from two of my favorite Franciscan nuns. I have been friends with the Disciples of the Lord Jesus Christ since I first met them in 1990 and they are precious to me. It is a wonderful security blanket to know you have a community of praying nuns watching your back. The visit lasted about an hour. I rambled and shared about my past year and had therapy and prayer rolled into an hour-long visit and wrapped up with hugs. It was awesome!

I’m still reading and deleting emails. I’m still watching tv. I caught a marathon of Law and Order SVU the other day and got hooked. I don’t know why I never watched that show before. It’s been on forever and has really good writers. I still play Harvest Moon infrequently but a lot of time is wasted on growing my farm in Big Farm. It is a cool online game that can be a little addictive if you are not careful, and sometimes requires you to spend some of your own money to buy gold to use to play the game. If you are very careful, and quite patient, you can get by for a long time without doing that. So, while I’m waiting for crops to grow, I’ll check out my Etsy store and check to see if anyone has taken a peek or bought anything.Facebook_Revised (1) The Etsy store front is very cool. If you have anything you would like to set up in a store front, for a reasonable price, you should give this a try. It costs $.20 for each item you set up in your store. When I started, I only had 12 items for sale. If you like what you see, you can get 40 FREE listings. Take a look here.

The other day I read about someone looking for some of their listed store items on google.com/shopping. I was curious to see if any of my items had made it to the search engine so I went browsing. I was excited to find that on google.com/shopping if you type in ‘finger rosaries‘ in the search box, about 8 of my rosaries were on page 8! Woo hoo! If someone is really into diehard shopping excursions, they might actually find some of my stuff and my shop.

It’s been raining a lot in our area. Whoever designed our house was on drugs or something. The back-end of our backyard is about 12 feet higher than the end in front of our back door. So when it rains, run off water flows down hill and right into our living room door. If it is a slow sprinkle or steady rain, it is usually not a problem. But in downpours or continuous days of rain when the ground becomes saturated, we get flooding. Hubby has dug ditches to use as moats and run offs but lately we have gotten so much rain that isn’t working. He came home from the store one day with a set of ‘sand bags’. They were little pillows you put out and when they get wet they expand and stretch out and absorb the water. That helped for a time. But we’ve gotten wet carpet about 3 times in the past couple of months. It is getting a little old to have to sit in the humidity listening to a myriad of fans blowing all day and all night long.

imagesAnd so, it is one day at a time. Just keeping busy and focusing on the very small ordinary day-to-day tasks and counting myself blessed that I can avoid falling. I’ll see you next time I check in. I’m in good health, but usually wait until I have enough to report before I write. Everyone take care…until next time.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in writing, personal, blog, culture, religion, humor, inspiration, people, American, musings, miscellaneous, social, Christianity, economy, reflections, faith, poetry, and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Small Update

  1. Small clarification: the house has flooded four times this season. The last three times were in the past 6 weeks or so. Not fun. Time to clean the carpet again and get the backyard sucked out of it.

    Like

  2. I just came across your last post and you seem to write with such tranquility. I enjoyed reading what you’ve been up to and I am sorry that you’re struggling with flooding! Where I live the heat is the biggest problem at the moment, but I enjoy the sun. I’ll try and send some your way! For now I’m off to look at your jewellery. All the very best, Jessica

    Like

  3. estherlou says:

    Thanks so much. I appreciate you reading my blog and always like to have people look at my jewelry. See ya…

    Like

Leave a Reply

