One more day, one day at a time

lymphedema-2I started the lymphedema wrap therapy at home a little over two weeks ago. Each step brought back some memories of when I did this for the first time about 8 years ago. By the time you finish with all the wraps, you have a leg that looks like a mummy and you have used about 15 different sizes and widths and kinds of bandages/wraps. Within all of that are various sizes and shapes of a special foam rubber to help the entire process. The goal is to stimulate the lymphatic system into doing its job a little better by the pressure of the wraps. It is in turn uncomfortable and feels very tight and your movement is slightly limited from the bulk, but the therapy works.

We have moved from one leg to the other. Meanwhile, I have ordered a velcro thigh wrap images (4)to wear everyday on my leg to take over where my knee-high boot or compression knee-hi hose ends. That might be interesting. Just a new step in the journey forward.

What I didn’t remember is the effect the weather and barometric pressure has on lymphedema patients. There is something about the change in the barometric pressure that causes us to swell up like balloons with the change. It is a little shocking and disconcerting. Just a new wrinkle in the day-to-day journey. Add to that the extra difficulty in walking or moving whatever limb you have wrapped and how it hinders everyday functions.

il_570xN.761746535_d8ihSo when I’m not focusing on all the above, I am making new rosaries. I mentioned before how I go in spurts with my interests. Right now, it is in making the rosaries. I will make them until I run out of supplies and start accumulating more than I can sell and then I will move on to the next project. It keeps life interesting, but hubby sometimes rolls his eyes at the accumulating mounds of hobby materials in the closet.

I sold a couple of rosaries on a ‘for sale’ group on Facebook, got teased by another person when that fell through and opened a store on Etsy. That happened just when attention for my rosaries seemed to wane. I’m beginning to think I am always one step behind the current trend or interest and seem to find the market saturated when I jump on board. Visions of selling Avon flash to mind.

Anyway, that’s what new with me. Just hanging in there, doing my exercises, mostly, and having the wrap therapy 3 times a week. And filling my time with various things. One day at a time. And so the journey continues.

.hands-545394_1280

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in writing, personal, blog, culture, religion, humor, inspiration, people, American, musings, miscellaneous, social, Christianity, economy, reflections, faith, poetry,. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

