Blogging for ideas

blog-327073_1280I seem to be on a roll lately. I am managing to come up with something to write about pretty often. It’s been nice. I’m enjoying it. It is interesting to see where the ideas come from. Usually I read other blogs and something will spark an idea. It might be a post that triggers a thought, or just getting the brain working on something besides watching TV seems to get the juices flowing.

creative-writing-388067_1280When I was painting, everywhere I went seemed to make me think, “that would make a nice painting.” Now, ideas for writing seem to come from the air. I hope it lasts awhile. The other night, I woke up with a little pain in my leg and then my brain wouldn’t shut up and go back to sleep. An idea came to mind and I kept rolling that idea around in my head for a couple of hours, plotting and thinking and remembering. It was interesting and a little exciting. Most of the bright ideas I have during the night are forgotten like dreams. At the same time, I was slightly irritated I couldn’t doze back off to sleep.

woman-213723_1280Reading blogs always triggers ideas. It might not even have anything to do with the blog post itself, but what it brings to mind might send my mind off in another direction that makes me think, ‘hmmm’.

I read a post that talked about friendship. That one stopped me for a few minutes. I have always been shy and never had many friends. I always found it hard to open up to others and invite people into my life, when I expected them to judge me on what they saw. It’s not as if I’m much different from anyone else, but home was always my sanctuary, my place of peace and quiet and where I could be me without judgement. I’m not sure why I grew up thinking like that. Perhaps it was because I was always made fun of growing up.

My earliest memory of being put in the spotlight was in the fourth grade. I began wearing glasses and they made fun of me. The kids called me ‘four eyes’ and ‘mow-fat’ because I was a chubby child. The ‘mow-fat’ came from my last name, Moffat. They just changed the pronunciation to suit them.

See how our brains work? I was talking about ideas for a post and while writing, my brain took a left turn. Our thoughts can be interesting to say the least. But, I digress.

friendsFriendship…I looked back and have never had many close friends. The kind you know will always be there. The kind you know you can tell anything, and they will still love you and be there tomorrow. The kind that won’t take what you shared in confidence and share it with everyone else that they know.  I was not very trusting and trust always has to come first. My best friend after I got married, became my younger sister. She and her husband lived elsewhere for a time, but once they moved ‘back home’ we grew very close.

I have another sister and a brother. The four of us would go to movies together. We would go out to eat together. Carol and I just seemed like we were so alike in our thoughts and what we believed that I told people that we were like twins. We did arts and crafts together and spent a lot of our time together. We became inseparable. She joined me in my church choir and later joined the Church. We planned a benefit concert together for the Nuns of The Disciples of the Lord Jesus Christ. She died suddenly and unexpectedly one weekend of a blood clot to the lung. I was left with a big hole in my life and felt incomplete for a long time.

And so we come to today. My life has gotten very small. It revolves around TV and my computer and my crocheting. I spend time with hubby and daughter in the evenings and talk with my son through texts or on the phone. I like playing Yahtzee on my Nook and catching up on my shows on Netflix. I usually fit in a nap in between.

Well now, this ramble took quite a turn.  Usually a blog needs to have some theme or a bit of continuity. This one traveled around in circles.  So I’ll let you go for now. I hope you all are having a great Sunday at home. See you next time.

And the journey continues…

winding-road-71367_1280

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in writing, personal, blog, culture, religion, humor, inspiration, people, American, musings, miscellaneous, social, Christianity, economy, reflections, faith, poetry,. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging for ideas

  1. Gale Wright says:

    I am really enjoying that you are inspired to write frequently and that each blog is like a little work of art all on its own. You may have found your “voice” even if it is a written voice rather than a singing voice!

    Like

  2. estherlou says:

    Thanks so much! And thanks for reading. When I share something, I do try to make it legible and hope it has a small amount of humor or interest to others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

