Brainstorming might help

road-363265_1280

I’m needing ideas right now. I’m eager to write more blogs. I’m in the mood. I’ve been reading other blogs and want to do more. I’m geared up to post. The problem is, nothing is coming to mind. Nothing new happened to me today. It was a normal day. I got up, fixed my breakfast, did some of my exercises, saved some for later, had lunch and dozed off during the afternoon.

idea-152213_1280

I watched t.v. and played Yahtzee on my Nook. I read and deleted some emails. I opened Facebook and decided I didn’t want to go there today. Hubby came home from work, we had supper, and now it’s TV again for the rest of the evening. I’m reading blogs and looking at my stats and some of my oldest blogs for inspiration. I rolled my eyes at some of my earlier posts and stopped looking.

I realized I’ve had this blog since 2009 and was shocked it has been so long. I began just for fun, with no special agenda or ambitions. All I wanted was to practice writing and become better at crafting a sentence. Perhaps in the back of my mind I thought one day I could write a book or something, but life tends to draw me away from subtle maybes.

monkey-557586_1280I have learned a little about editing my words. I take the time to reread what I’ve written and if it sounds really crazy I will change it. I try to catch all the typos and just make it legible, easy to read, and mildly interesting. In the back of my mind is my self-censor. I try to remember my family and friends when I write. If I am expounding about something controversial, I am careful how I present my opinion. Once something is put out there, it can’t really be retracted. I care enough about the people around me to not hurt them by careless ranting. I really hate getting slapped in the face with unexpected f-bombs when I read, so I don’t use profanity. If I feel anger or frustration, I find it challenging and exciting to be able to express my thoughts without offending most people.

When I began, I posted a lot of news stories and links including my short opinion of what was going on in the world at the moment. I discovered early I don’t really have the knack for that type of blog. I don’t want to have to put in a lot of time on research making sure I wasn’t making an idiot of myself and being called on it later.

blog-327073_1280 I enjoy photography blogs, but I’m not a photographer. I can be slightly humorous, but wouldn’t call myself a funny person so writing consistently under ‘humor’ isn’t my thing either. I’m not into fashion enough to have a fashion blog, though I do love watching Project Runway and America’s Next Top Model. Most of my reading is in proofreading/critiquing new manuscripts, so I really can’t post book reviews. What I have discovered is I am better at writing about what is happening with me now. Isn’t that the writer’s credo? Write what you know. The challenge is in making day-to-day minutia interesting enough to share with others. It gets exciting when reading someone else’s blog triggers an idea that evolves into a new post.

I like to think that over these past five years, I’ve gotten a little better at expressing myself and letting a bit of my humor peek out from time to time. I’ve never been Fresh Pressed and don’t even know exactly what that means. I’m still just writing to learn about expressing myself and have a little fun doing it. It needs to stay fun and not become stressful. People aren’t pushing and shoving to read my blog, but I have a few followers who actually read some of what I write, which really makes me smile inside. I appreciate every one of you.

idea-605766_1280

I was trying to think of an idea to write about. Nothing much happened today. It was an ordinary day, just like most other days. I thought that if I had someone to brainstorm with, I might come up with something really incredible, but hubby goes to bed very early since his work day begins at 4:30 a.m.

So I just started writing to see if the words might magically stick together and make something worth posting. It’s as if I was brainstorming with myself. I think it’s not too bad and might be mildly interesting to someone.

So like all of us, coming up with a post on demand, or every day, can sometimes be difficult. Our minds just go blank, that “deer in the headlights” look comes over us and we waste a lot of time just sitting. Thanks to all the bloggers I read whose spark ideas in my mind to share. I depend on you for my own creativity.

Day-to-day and ordinary is a part of my life. Sometimes it is the rut we fall into, and sometimes it is that path that turns into our personal life journey.

And so the journey continues…

winding-road-71367_1280

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in writing, personal, blog, culture, religion, humor, inspiration, people, American, musings, miscellaneous, social, Christianity, economy, reflections, faith, poetry,. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brainstorming might help

  1. The posts I enjoy reading the most are the ones in which people write about their lives, that’s just my preference. I like to learn about the person behind the title, I suppose.

    Like

  2. estherlou says:

    I agree with you. It’s like we meet new friends that way. Thanks for reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

