Are you a stress eater?

 

Look Hear?

Look Hear? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have been a stress eater my whole life. I was someone who sucked my thumb as a child. When I quit that at age 12, I think I replaced that with food. I realized very late in life that food fed my insecurities, my loneliness, my depression and my desire to fit in. It became a way of life. And it is not normal.

My husband is the kind of person who can buy a pie, or a bag of cookies, or chips…eat a piece or a handful, and then put the rest away for the next time which could be a week later. I have never understood that. I have friends who quit eating when they are depressed. I wish! Who does that? That is something I don’t understand either. My sister was like me. Her husband was an alcoholic. He couldn’t understand the way we looked at food either. So she asked him if he bought a pint or a quart of liquor would he take one drink out of it and put it away for another day, or would he finish it off? He said of course he would finish it off and then he understood.

A lot of M&M's.

My favorite binge food was to get a one pound bag of m & m’s and a large bag of chips…how can you improve on chocolate and salty together? And I would eat them until they were gone. Thank goodness those days are long gone, but the urge to eat when stressed or anxious about something is still there.

The Thai versions of Lay's Potato Chips. Most ...

The Thai versions of Lay’s Potato Chips. Most of the flavours are seafood oriented. Why can we not get these flavours in America? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And so, after supper, there is always the urge for dessert, or ‘something more’ or ‘I just want something else’ that I have to fight against. Sometimes I will eat less earlier in the day just so I CAN have that ‘something more’ later to feed my inner security blanket.

So as someone who needs to lose weight, being a stress eater never helps the new situations when they come. That sneaky little urge to feed the anxiety or the boredom or the fear or the depression is always hiding inside ready to pop out unawares. I think that maybe once I’d like to try the other side…the side that quits eating when upset. It’s amazing how odd that seems to me. I guess it is all in what’s ‘normal’ for you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are you a stress eater?

  1. Lady J says:

    Hey, thanks for the follow! I totally identify with this way of eating. It’s totally an event. I’ve found that I am happy when I eat even a lot of healthy food; it’s definitely a quantity thing for me. As though I didn’t grow up as a spoiled only child 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi there! Thanks for following me. 🙂 I absolutely am a stress eater. Your m&m and chip extravaganza made me think of my favorite snack; peanut m&ms mixed with salted popcorn. I wish I didn’t miss that so much. I feel like when you have a problem with food addiction it may lessen, but the desire is always there. I sure wish it wasn’t! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

