Started physical therapy today

Back of an Ambulance

Back of an Ambulance (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Last Saturday, I was still working. I am handicapped and use walker and wheelchair to get places and use an office chair to work in so I can get around. Sunday night/Monday morning about 2 am I fell and had to call 911 to come pick me up off the floor. Nothing seemed to be hurt and getting up monday seemed normal. Tuesday morning after getting up, I came in my chair out to the living room to transfer to the loveseat and wasn’t able to get up by myself. I tried almost an hour. I decided to call 911 and go to the hospital to have things checked out.

The ride in the ambulance was horrible. I weigh 330 lbs. so a three-inch gurney doesn’t fit me so well. It also seems to rock back and forth with the feeling of absolutely no shocks to help the vehicle. And with my bone spurs and the inability to straighten my knees, laying on my back on this gurney in a somewhat sitting up position was quite uncomfortable.

At the hospital, we got shoulder x-rays. I had hurt my shoulder about 2 months before. It was getting better but I went to an urgent care to get x-rays which was impossible since I couldn’t stand and put my shoulder against the x-ray tray on the wall. They thought it was the rotator cuff. X-rays showed I had dislocated my shoulder and it was popping in and out. I also got chest x-rays to rule out congestive heart problems causing the weakness; got new knee x-rays, got pelvis x-rays and sonograms because of some post menopause spotting. Everything came back as expected or normal. The day was exhausting and crippling. I went home with a catheter since I couldn’t get up and out of bed by myself and my lymphedema and bladder problems cause me to get up at least 6 times a night for potty breaks. The er doctor told me I was such a mess I should go live in a nursing home or enter a rehab hospital which I probably wouldn’t qualify for since I didn’t have an injury. I can’t tell you how positive and helpful he was.

For the first time in too many years to remember, I am able to rest at night since I’m wearing the catheter. I’ve signed up for home health care and home physical therapy to try to get back what I had just last week. I was not planning on quitting work and retiring so suddenly.

It has been an emotional and overwhelming 6 days. There are so many things to deal with, I’m putting them in order. After I get stronger, I will go to the doctor for a check up. After that, a visit to an orthopedic surgeon for both the shoulder and the knees. It’s a catch 22 situation…I lean heavily on the arms and shoulders to help me walk since the legs and knees don’t work so well which means surgery would be impossible on the shoulder since I use it constantly. I’ve seen two knee surgeons about the knees and because of my weight and my lymphedema which puts me at a higher risk for infection, knee replacement is not something they want to do. So I’ve learned to deal with what I have, and losing it so suddenly and unexpectedly without notice was shocking. So…here’s to the therapy! I’m working to regain what I had!

Enhanced by Zemanta
About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

