Enjoying the stomach flu…with TMI

I recently had a bout with the stomach/intestinal flu. This has more information than you might want, but it is not too graphic. I remember having a lot of pain in my abdominal area and extreme nausea. The nausea was the worst. It was unending and had no goal except to make me miserable. I didn’t have any throwing up, just enough pain and nausea to want to be extremely still and do absolutely nothing. It lasted for almost 3 days.

I did my usual remedies…diet 7up and chicken soup and dry saltine crackers. I even tried dry scrambled eggs. Nothing really helped how I felt. I had a couple of trips to the bathroom to void my system, but the pain and nausea hung on. I actually considered calling 911 and going to the hospital because I felt so well. After two days and in the 2nd night all of sudden, my system decided it had had enough and voided itself in an explosive manner without warning. Actually, a tiny bit of warning in the form of a bit of passed gas which decided to be something else at the last moment and before I could make it to the restroom. You can’t imagine the excitement emanating from my husband when I asked for a bit of help in cleaning up where I couldn’t reach on my backside. Worse than that, the amazing aroma made him leave the room. He threatened divorce if I ever got sick like this again. It was just too much fun to handle.

After this final adventure, I was on the road to recovery. It took almost a week to be able to eat somewhat normally again, and to be rid of the leftover pain and nausea. I lost 7 1/2 lbs. in that first week and 4 lbs. in the second. Too bad they will probably sneak back on once I am fully back to normal. A pity…

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

