Skating

English: Kim during her free skating competiti...

English: Kim during her free skating competition. And she is 2010 Olympic goldmedalist. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sundays are a lazy day, a day of recovery from the week and rest in the form of afternoon naps. Still, I managed to watch a couple of rented movies and now am watching Ice Skating. I have always loved watching this. It’s unusual that what I can’t possibly do is what attracts me. I watch the dexterity, the grace, the smoothness of movement and revel in the talent and how they skate to their chosen music. Unusual, since I can walk with great difficulty and for very short distances. But I’ve always been drawn to those who have chosen and learned how to train their bodies in wonderful movement. I also love dancing and gymnastics.

Nothing much new has been going on. My 4 day work week is about the same and my 3 days off are spent with hubby and daughter and in blogging or deleting emails and tv. I have noticed when my physical condition is testing me, my world becomes very small as I work and struggle to make it to work and back and manage all the tasks involved and  in between.

When I am tired my world gets more me focused as I deal with my day to day struggles. Since I need knee replacements it is difficult when getting up and down and into my chair at work. Navagating the bathroom at work is especially difficult since standing without holding on to something makes that a challenging chore. I’ve also noticed that when I am tired, my bed seems to grow taller and it becomes harder for me to reach.

We decided it was time to try to lower the bed frame. It always sounds easier to carry out until you are into the project. Upon examination, the legs couldn’t be removed from the frame. So, we put the frame in a back room, placed some long boards on the floor to support the box springs and mattress and voila! The bed is now about 6 inches closer to the ground. That makes it easier to get into, and easier to swing my legs onto the bed without hurting my knees, but getting up is harder since I don’t really have anything to help pull myself up with. It will take some getting used to, but I think the pros outweigh the cons. Perhaps now, I won’t feel the fear of hurting myself when it is time to go to bed. I managed to rest without hurting my knees last night and that was a wonderful accomplishment. Every little success makes the day worthwhile. Until next time…

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Skating

  1. Hi Esther,

    I am so sorry to read of your health troubles. I hope you find some measure of relief. Your positive attitude is very inspiring.

    My hope is that you are filled with joy and peace during this holiday season.

    Sending lots of healing thoughts and prayers your way.

    Nancy

    Like

  2. estherlou says:

    Thanks so much. Prayers are ALWAYS appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

