It’s all about Perception

I have a blog I read religiously. It is written by a woman with chronic illnesses and chronic pain. She lives to uplift others, and in telling her day-to-day trials and how she overcomes them, she inspires so many of us. I feel she is the most amazing person I’ve ever known. Her web page is http://workthedream.wordpress.com/  She truly does Work the Dream!

Like her, I am handicapped, and live with the inability to do many things I used to be able to do. I also live with mild arthritic pain. She lives with mind and body debilitating constant pain the likes of which I have never seen and hope never to experience. And through it all, she has made the decision to make every moment count, to work through the pain she has and come out the other side no matter what the cost. Some days she writes her stories fighting tears as she tries to distract herself from her pain. Some days, she has to stay immobile in her bed praying and hoping for the relief she knows will come eventually. Her character is amazing. Her resolve is unbelievable. She has a hat that says “Mojo” and many days she puts on her mojo along with her hat which is her way of using her determination to never give in and to never give up. I have never known anyone like her. She is truly special and an inspiration to everyone who reads her blog.

Some days, when I am overtired, I want to whimper to myself because ‘things’ are too hard and I’m tired of my physical limitations. She makes me realize how petty and selfish I can be. I can still walk a little, and I still work part-time. I have managed to be thankful for the many times I get up during the night and look at is as my exercise and way to keep strong and remain somewhat mobile. danLrene, or Deb is teaching me not only admiration, but that anything can be endured if necessary. And that gratitude for what we have is ever so much more important than what we don’t have. Looking back wishing things were the way they used to be solves nothing. I am learning that trying is very important and that giving up or giving in is not an option.

A passage from James I:2 says it well…

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various [c]trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces [d]endurance. And let [e]endurance have its perfect [f]result, so that you may be [g]perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

1 Thessalonians 5:17-18

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

17 pray without ceasing; 18 in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

