The End of an Era

When I joined the Catholic Church in 1990 I started a new chapter in my spiritual life. My pastor was Fr. Tash. I sang a lot of masses, either in the choir or as cantor/song leader with Fr. Tash presiding. We developed a working relationship and passed religious emails and cartoons. He helped me and my family many times with prayer, emotional support, advice and hugs, and even a couple of times, money out of his own pocket. He buried my younger sister. He was a special force in our Church and in our community. We lost him in 2012 before we were ready. I know he must be organizing something in heaven.

And today, we found out Deacon Terry is retiring.  Terry is another church friend and hugging buddy that I’ve known for the past 23 years. He had a special calling to be a Deacon and has a certain finesse in how he helps at each mass. He is also an email buddy. Retiring? Surely not yet.

Things are just confirming that I am getting old. All of my friends are old, too. Time tends to slip by us whether we are paying attention or not. It’s another new year. I had a birthday in December and am 63 now. I’ve been married 42 years. Our son is 41 and our daughter is 39. Even my car is 24 this year! Change happens even when we don’t plan for it.  All of the signs are there…it must be the end of an era.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The End of an Era

  1. bobmielke says:

    I have discovered your blog through comments you made on one of Cee’s Share You World Posts. I too am 63 & will be 64 in May, 2013. I retired 2 1/2 years ago and am living by myself on Social Security. I am blessed to have medical coverage through the VA. I look back on my life and praise God for sticking with me all these years. I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord & Savior Sept 1979. Born a Catholic I was affected greatly by the Chrismatic Movement in the late 70’s. I live in Portland, OR, one of the most beautiful parts of the United States and am way too happy for one person. I wake up every day excited to discover more of our beautiful world. I am an avid photographer. – Bob

    Like

Leave a Reply

