The Day After Christmas

christmas refuse 3 cane and tree

christmas refuse 3 cane and tree (Photo credit: wintersoul1)

I have always been a worrier. My mother was a worrier so I come by it honestly. I tend to freak out ahead of time over anticipated unwelcome changes. I have learned over the years that the feared is never as bad as the anticipation, so I have calmed down a little. But sometimes the instinct rises up and I spend awhile in that anxiety-ridden space.

Yesterday, my son, daughter-in-law, and 4 almost grown grandchildren came for an out-of-state visit. I don’t handle unexpected or even planned changes very well, but the visit was wonderful. The grandkids are 17, 16, 15, and 12 and they are well-rounded and quite interesting. They are growing into exceptional adults and I attribute that to their parents and their upbringing. Of course, I couldn’t be a little prejudiced.

We all went out to eat together and watching their family interactions was fun. Dinner was good, conversation was interesting and pleasant, and it was wonderful getting to know everyone after a 4 year absence. Later, we exchanged small gifts and continued our conversations. It was amusing to see all the kids sitting around the living room. Two were on their smart phones and 2 were on laptops as was Mom. What a time we live in. All in all, it was a special time with family. I hope your Christmas was as enjoyable.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

