Merry Christmas

chrismas tree

chrismas tree (Photo credit: p u n t o)

Today is Christmas. Some years it doesn’t feel like Christmas. I’ve spent the past month icing and decorating tons of Christmas cookies for everyone to enjoy. And the days blur together until it is Christmas eve and I realize once again, Christmas snuck up on me and we are not ready.
We haven’t put up much in the way of decorations since our kids were small, so it almost seems like just another day of the year. And we are so exhausted because of the extra work serving the public, that our ‘bah humbug’ tends to come out instead of wanting to feel ‘merry’.

I haven’t been to Christmas eve mass in years, and that is what always helped to mesh my bah humbug into thankfulness for all we have. Why? hubby has to work every Christmas and goes to bed early and gets up at dark thirty, I can’t go by myself, needing help with the wheelchair, so I spend Christmas eve alone flipping channels.  Too much? Okay. Here goes.

My son and family are in town. I haven’t seen the grandkids in about 3 or 4 years. Long enough to feel a little anxiety about how I don’t know them anymore. But, we are having a white Christmas here and they will love it and it will be good to see them all. My house is small, and fitting 14 people into it is logistically impossible, so we were planning on eating out. Now, we may open a can of soup and eat a tortilla or a scrambled egg which is about all I have in the cupboard now. Kids don’t mind sitting on the floor, right?

I am extremely thankful for my health, the strength I have in my arms and legs that helps me manage my walker. I am extremely thankful for my husband of 42 years. I don’t know what I’d do without him. I am thankful for a roof over my head, electricity and heat and running water. We should never take the little things for granted.

I am thankful for the relationship I have with my two grown children. Daughter is a friend, we edit manuscripts together, and enjoy some tv time together. I enjoy it very much. Son is a faithful phone buddy since he lives in a different state, and he is also my prayer buddy. That is special to me.

I am thankful for my job, my boss and the fact I can still work.

I am thankful for Christian radio which soothes me, encourages me, and keeps me sane.

I am thankful for my prayer life and the relationship I have with God the Father, Jesus the Son, and the Holy Spirit. I couldn’t function without that and am grateful for His presence.

I am thankful for the Disciples of the Lord Jesus Christ http://dljc.org , a community of Charismatic Nuns who I met in 1990 and who have encouraged me, befriended me, and prayed for me and my family ever since. That is precious to me.

I am thankful for the health of my mother. She is 86 and still going strong. She actually gets around better than I do. I am thankful for the good health my sister and brother also enjoy.

Now that I got out of the bah humbug and into the thankyous, I want to wish all of you a very Merry Christmas. Have a great holiday. And Happy Birthday Jesus!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Merry Christmas

  1. His Servant says:

    A very Merry Christmas to you and your family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

