Ice Skating Grand Prix

Michelle Kwan

Michelle Kwan (Photo credit: kevinrushforth)

Figure Skating Queen Yu-Na KIM

Figure Skating Queen Yu-Na KIM (Photo credit: { QUEEN YUNA })

Michelle Kwan competes her second long program...

Michelle Kwan competes her second long program at the 2002 Grand Prix Final in Kitchener, Ontario. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m a lover of figure skating. Of course, that means, from my loveseat. I am disabled and in my 60’s so I’m not talking about doing it myself. I was watching the Grand Prix of Skating from Japan today, and found so many new and young skaters that I missed all of my old favorites.

I’ve watched and enjoyed ice skating since Peggy Fleming and Dorothy Hamill. I loved the time period when Michelle Kwan, Oksana Baiul. and Tara Lapinski were popular. I loved the beautiful lines that Michelle Kwan made special. Evgeni Plushenko, Elvis Stojko. Kurt Browning, and Brian Boitano were favorites among the men skaters. My most favorite was Scott Hamilton. Many went on to skate in various programs and competitions after they quit competing in the Olympics and gave all of us many years of joy.

As I watched today, I saw many young, new skaters with beauty and grace and knew I was seeing future greatness. There were also more experienced competitors in their late 20’s who showed us what time and determination adds to talent. They showed poise, passion, smoothness of transitions as well as the jumps we all love to gasp over. It was interesting to find I watch with a different perspective now. I see many moves or leaps, spins and lunges and think of my arthritic knees. LOL But there is nothing like watching beauty and grace floating across the ice and recognizing what the human form can accomplish with grit and persistence.

Related articles

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ice Skating Grand Prix

  1. Clifford Toepperwein says:

    i really love ice skating because it is fun and a great way to loose fats too.:

    Most recent blog post from our new internet page
    http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/hair-designs/

    Like

Leave a Reply

