Political correctness touches Thanksgiving

Happy Turkey Day

Happy Turkey Day (Photo credit: atmtx)

It’s almost Thanksgiving! A day to give thanks for all we have and to spend time with family and/or friends. A day to eat with excessive gusto everything you remember eating during your childhood at holidays. We usually have more food to eat than we can eat in three meals times the crowd that’s there. For those of you who are introverts like me, it’s also a time of too much cleaning, too much family and too much togetherness. I tend to anticipate and dread the cleaning, the rearranging of the furniture, the cooking, and of course the cleanup. On the other side, I always enjoy the fellowship and conversations with family I haven’t seen all year. I’m just not used to being around a lot of people at once.

The other day, I posted an announcement on Facebook for our bakery/shop. I was telling when we were closing for the Thanksgiving holiday and when we were going to be back for business. I ended with a “Happy Turkey Day!” I was not making light of the meaning of giving thanks and the specialness of the day. It was an innocuous statement, sometimes shared in our family. I got a response on Facebook that looked like this…”IT”S HAPPY THANKSGIVING!” Oh my goodness! My perfectly innocent remark upset someone who thought I was making fun or making light of the day of giving thanks and was celebrating the turkey! OOPS! Wow. Funny….you can’t say anything these days without upsetting someone. Anyway! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving! Enjoy the day off and if you get together with family…enjoy!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

