Battleship

Battleship (film)

Battleship (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I just watched the new release Battleship.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1440129/

Hubby told me it wasn’t a successful movie, meaning they spent more to make it then it made at the theaters. I was holding my breath the entire time I watched the movie. It was full of excitement and suspense.

“Based on the classic Hasbro naval combat game, Battleship is the story of an international fleet of ships who come across an alien armada while on Naval war games exercise. An intense battle is fought on sea, land and air. What do the aliens want?” Not knowing the game, I watched it purely as a movie and really enjoyed it. Liam Neeson, Taylor Kitsch, and Rihanna are 3 of my favorite main characters.

Spoiler alert….here is a synopsis…

“Alex Hopper is a talented but undisciplined slacker. His brother Stone, a naval Commander, forces Hopper to join the Navy. Hopper becomes a lieutenant on the USS John Paul Jones DDG-53, sister-ship to his brother’s command, the USS Sampson DDG-102. Hopper also falls in love with Admiral Shane’s daughter, Samantha, and wants to marry her, but is afraid of asking her father’s permission, as he doesn’t like Hopper. During the RIMPAC opening ceremony, Hopper gets into a brawl with Captain Nagata of the Japanese Maritime Self Defense Force, in charge of JDS Myoko DDG-175. Hopper soon learns that he is to be kicked out of the Navy at the end of RIMPAC. Meanwhile, Samantha accompanies Army veteran and amputee Mick Canales on a hike on Oahu in order to help him adapt to his prosthetic legs.

A small fleet of alien ships arrives in response to the NASA signal. One ship collides with an orbital satellite and crashes in Hong Kong, while five others land in the waters near Hawaii. The aliens erect a massive forcefield around the islands, trapping a number of American, Japanese and other sovereignty’s warships, including Hopper’s ship. The aliens attack, destroying Nagata and Stone’s ships. Hopper’s superiors are killed, leaving him in command of the John Paul Jones. Captain Nagata and some of his crew members are rescued from the waters and assists the Americans in setting up a discreet way to track the aliens using wave-detection buoys. During a night-time battle, the aliens and the Americans exchange pot shots, but Hopper manages to sink two alien ships. They rescue an alien from the water. They discover the aliens are very sensitive to sun light and have to wear filters during the day. Using this knowledge, Hopper attacks another alien ship at dawn, using a sniper rifle with Nagata to breach their cockpit window and blind them with sunlight. Both ships are destroyed in the battle.

A group of alien footsoldiers and scientists lands on Oahu and attack the NASA communications array. Samantha and Mick narrowly avoid their detection, and run into a fleeing NASA scientist. Because the aliens’ communications ship crashed in Hong Kong, the aliens plan to use the NASA array to signal their home planet to invade Earth. Realizing that a larger invasion might be imminent, Samantha manages to get a radio and warns Hopper of the threat.

Having no better options, the surviving crew of the John Paul Jones return to harbor and board the USS Missouri BB-63, a 70-year old decommissioned battleship that has been converted into a museum. With the aid of the museum staff, all elderly war veterans, Hopper manages to put the Missouri out to sea again. With some clever maneuvers, the Missouri destroys the last alien ship and shells the communications array, destroying the aliens and ending the threat of invasion.”

Maybe it’s cliche, but I loved this movie. Good guys against the bad guys, suspense and the underdogs win…what else could you want? Can’t emphasize enough how much I liked this movie.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Battleship

  1. Allen says:

    We saw this at the DriveIn this summer and had so much fun with it, repeating back the “great” lines. But I too was surprised how much the big climax actually touched me, and had me say a “thanks, God” for all our Veteran and Active servicepersons.

    Like

Leave a Reply

