America vs the World

English: US World War I poster. One of a serie...

The current election has to be the most compelling, disturbing, and virulent of all I remember since I first voted after I married in 1970. Like everyone else who follows politics, I sometimes get caught up in it all. I read a lot of news from many sources but tend to trust conservative sources more. I begin with shock and then proceed to rant. It takes a lot of energy and passion to keep up with current affairs. Sometimes the emotional rollercoaster can be exhausting.

What is interesting to note is, most people will pick candidates based on their feelings. Yes, we all have values we look for. In my case, is the candidate patriotic, looking out for our military and our country? Is the candidate arrogant and cocky, or a prayerful person who recognizes God should always be his bulwark. Does he believe in the sanctity of life? From conception to natural death? When life is devalued, everything else falls by the wayside. Does the candidate care for the back-bone of our country? the working class? After we get past our personal agendas, we go by our gut feelings. I remember every time I looked at Clinton I got a sick feeling. Intuition? Vibe? Discernment? Perhaps a touch of all three. He was against most of what I felt was important and my feelings just put a cap on it. I didn’t vote for Clinton.

Now, we have a Democratic party that has become progressively more liberal, and more politically correct at the expense of hard-working Americans and our Christian values. Sharia law has crept into our courts; God and Christian values have been removed while allowing “call to prayer”, Allah, profanity, or “anything goes”.  The government has gradually begun controlling our values and morals, our children, and what we are allowed to eat–all things of personal choice–meaning personal liberty is now on a very tight leash.

There are now two months left to listen to one side try to convince us that the other side is more criminal, or immoral, or more liable for the problems of the universe. My emotional scale has leveled off a bit. No more rants. I am now living in extreme disquiet. I am amazed our country has gone this far in such a short time. Is it the fault of one man? Not entirely, but one man has to steer the ship. Is it the fault of the president who hasn’t influenced anything in the past four years? Give me a break.

Are you going to refuse to vote because both candidates are not who you would choose? or not worth your vote? What we all have to remember is this–America is more at stake now than ever before. Things I used to take for granted have changed. Romney may not be my perfect choice, but the trend of the past four years needs to change. Can he miraculously fix everything wrong immediately? or ever? Perhaps not, but I think it is time to try a new direction. We’ve traveled down the current path for the past 4 years and I don’t like what I’ve seen. I think it really is time for a change.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

