The Girl in the Blue Scarf

I saw this picture used as a writing prompt a few days ago posted by http://wp.me/p1dnHh-qT

I was immediately drawn to the picture and here is what I came up with…

I was people watching in the mall when I noticed her. She stood out because she was so still. The hustle and bustle of shoppers and walkers passed by her going both directions as she just stood there. She was slight and thin, with worn jeans and a sweater jacket. Peeking out of the collar was a bright royal blue scarf that accentuated her eyes. They were unblinking and staring at nothing as she stood leaning against the wall. She had a messy, cropped spiky haircut that seemed to surround her head like a fan. She had high cheekbones and a severe jaw line. I wondered when she had eaten last. As I watched, she straightened slightly and focused her gaze in my direction. Her gaze was piercing and unwavering. It startled me to think someone had noticed my watching and I tucked my head down quickly. When I glanced up again, she was gone. I jerked my head to the left and then to the right looking for the blue scarf or the spiky hair. There were teens chattering, parents scolding children, and seniors window shopping, but there was no girl in a blue scarf. I glanced at my watch. It was late. I had to go.

============================================================================================

It was exciting how drawn I was to the drawing, the words spoken and what I wrote came quickly. The problem is, after I wrote this, I didn’t know what to do with it next.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Girl in the Blue Scarf

  1. jpfinn7 says:

    You sure have a knack for telling a story. I wish my writing was as good as yours. You definitely have a special gift!

    Like

  2. estherlou says:

    Reblogged this on Estherlou's Blog and commented:

    I was having a discussion with my daughter on how to get ideas for writing a story/book. I said it was hard for me to visualize. She said start asking questions…what if…where did…how did they…and I interrupted and said I have to have a place or person to begin with. The closest I got to being able to do that was when I wrote that couple of paragraphs about that picture of the girl. She reminded me I put that in a blog so I went back to look for it. Here it is. I was proud of it, but haven’t taken the time to do something like that since. How do you writers find story ideas?

    Like

Leave a Reply

