Study: More Than Half a Trillion Dollars Spent on Welfare – But Poverty Levels Unaffected | CNSNews.com

Historical government spending by major functi...

Historical government spending by major function in the United States from 1902 to 2010 (2008 estimate, percent GDP) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Study: More Than Half a Trillion Dollars Spent on Welfare – But Poverty Levels Unaffected | CNSNews.com. The US is now spending hundreds of billions of dollars on welfare programs. Since this administration took over, federal welfare spending has increased 41% which is more than $193 billion a year. We are constantly hearing numbers like this while we know we are barely paying the interest on our government loans. We seem to be obsessed with spending and continue to add more and more to the pile without the money necessary to pay for these increases. I’m the first to admit, when my daughter lost her job, we were thankful for unemployment benefits. I think these programs are necessary for those who genuinely need them. What is interesting to learn from the study is that the national poverty level  has remained almost the same since 1965 despite the increase in spending. A layman’s first thought could be, perhaps it’s because there are more people needing the help. That means, fewer people working, more people on welfare and on government assistance. The study says the poverty programs are designed to keep people comfortable with where they are…giving the poor more food, better shelter, better health care etc. instead of teaching and encouraging them to go to school, or encouraging them to get a job even if it is a low-wage job. I don’t understand that mentality. Our daughter is working 2 low-wage jobs to try to make ends meet The job market may be bad now, but there are a few jobs out there to be had in most areas.  My husband and I are considered lower middle class by income and money is tight. It has been much more difficult to stretch our money in the past 4 years than it has been in most of our 42 years together. We pay for our own insurance. I drive a car that is 24 years old. Have we just added another generation of people who are used to living off of government help? It can be a vicious circle and sometimes getting off the merry-go-round seems overwhelming.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

