Computer fun!

Malware logo Crystal 128.

We got our first computer in 1999. I was 49 years old. Our daughter was in Korea in the Army and we wanted to be able to keep in touch with her better using email. As a newby, I learned everything by trying to do something else. Hubby always plugged in all the components to get a computer up and running, but I was the one to add software and  learn how to do things. It was always trial and error, but fixing mistakes is a good teacher. I remember one time talking to tech support and they said, “It did what? I’ve never heard of a computer doing that. What did you do to get there?” Well, of course, I never could retrace my steps exactly since I had tried one thing after another. I thought it was hilarious that a newby such as myself could actually do something a techie had never heard of.

I haven’t seen a virus in many years. Remember how you would get some strange pop up box saying something obscure and then the pop up box would become a row of about 50? I would say, “What the…?” Well, yesterday, was a visit to the past. I got a particularly vicious and ugly virus. The desktop was covered with pop up boxes. After closing them out I discovered huge gaps in my data and my hard drive was almost empty. I couldn’t even find the control panel. It took a long time to look around and find recovery, so I set it to go back a couple of days. When that was completed, but I had lost a lot of saved files. Hmmm….so I thought I’d try to go forward again to see if I could save some of those lost files. When I did that, the virus was back. So, since I had spent about an hour and a half, gotten almost no where, and still had lost my files, I decided to take the computer back to factory specs. I again had to get rid of all of those wonderful pop up boxes and find a way to do anything when most of the hard drive appeared empty. How did I do it? Well, it’s a new day, and I’ve slept since then, and I’m not sure I can tell you exactly how. But, I did go back to factory specs and my computer is up and running. I put McAfee back on, and for now, it seems like things are back to normal. Computers are great, aren’t they?

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.