Rebates to cut price of $60 LED bulb – Yahoo! Finance

CFL-Incand-bulbs <p>               This product image provided by Philips shows a state-of-the-art LED light bulb. The bulb is the most energy-efficient yet, lasts about 20 years and is supposed to give off a pleasing, natural-looking light. But what separates it from the pack most is the price tag: $60. (AP Photo/Philips)

Rebates to cut price of $60 LED bulb – Yahoo! Finance. A brand new light bulb that won a $10 million government contest goes on sale starting Sunday…Earth Day. It is the most energy-efficient, and lasts about 20 years. It took a year and a half  from creation to the testing. It uses only 10 watts of power saving about $8 a year in electricity if you use it 4 hours a day. CFL are almost as energy-efficient and much cheaper costing about $5. The New bulb costs about $60, but with rebates it is supposed to cost about $22.

“The race is now on to produce LED bulbs that produce 100 watts worth of light. The incandescent equivalents are no longer made or imported, victims of a federal ban that kicked in at the beginning of the year. They’re now starting to disappear from store shelves. Squeezing enough LEDs into a bulb-sized space to produce that much light is a big technical challenge — LEDs generate heat, which destroys them over time unless they’re well-cooled.

Incandescent bulbs of 40 watts and above will be banned in 2014. ”

It seems as if we will be spending a bit more for our bulbs of the future unless we want to revert to candles. You always have to pay for technological advances. But since the new LED bulb will last for 20 years, you can’t argue with the price.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rebates to cut price of $60 LED bulb – Yahoo! Finance

  1. gloryteller says:

    Thank you! Very informative. I wonder what we will use for oven light bulbs now!

    Like

  2. jpfinn7 says:

    Do you know if the Government is the one funding the rebates?

    Like

Leave a Reply

