I found my new chair!

I’ve been looking for a new office chair for work. Since I am partly handicapped, can’t stand or walk but a few steps at a time with a walker, I sit to work. So I “tool around” in my office chair. The problem is, my old chair is 12 years old. It is wobbly, uneven, at least 3 wheels fall off in a weeks time and it has become an issue of concern. I worry about the trouble of asking coworkers to put wheels back on for me. I try to hold myself level and move around carefully so maybe I won’t lose a wheel today. The wheels that don’t fall off don’t want to roll sometimes, so in trying to roll myself, they  drag and the effort actually pulls me forward in my seat. It has become exhausting and frustrating. I feel the extra effort to get the chair to roll freely hurts my knees more than they need and it is just stressful to worry about my personal safety every day.

A couple of months ago, I ordered a chair online and had it delivered to my work place. We spent about an hour putting it together only to find out if was made for a giant. I couldn’t even stand up tall enough to reach the seat and sit in it! It was extremely disappointing. It seems if you look for big chairs ( seats a little bigger) they automatically assume you are a big and tall man. If you look online for short chairs, you begin to find chairs for dwarfs. I’m not quite that short!

I gave up for a month or so after that fiasco. And then hubby told me we were getting a small pittance back from income tax and could use it to buy myself a chair and so I had to look once again. I told him he just needed to go to Office Depot and look in person. He found a wonderful chair for me on the first visit. It is leather, memory foam padded and looks expensive. It has a seat big enough for comfort, and sits low enough for my short legs to reach. It holds 350 lbs. for at least 5 hours of comfort and has a seal of approval from the Chiropractic Association of America. Sounds great,right? It was a little over $300 on sale for $199! Even better! I had so many worries about a new chair. My body was accustomed to sitting in the old chair and a different one would feel different. Would I be able to reach it okay? Would I be comfortable all day at work? Would I be able to navigate the bathroom with my new chair? I was worrying myself crazy!

Hubby took me to Office Depot to try the chair. He wheeled me in the store in my wheelchair and I sat in the chair to try it out. We decided to buy it and they delivered it for free the very next day. I had to wait a day until the only man who works in our shop was at work to help me put it together. It was very easy to put together compared with the other chair. I was so excited to be able to sit in it! I used it for about 3 1/2 hours the first day. I immediately felt my gluteous maximus muscles talking to me. I thought, yes, I must be sitting different. Lombar support makes a difference! The next day was a long day from 8:30 until 6. I felt my knees in new places complaining somewhat, I guess because the chair with its extremely padded seat is a smidgen taller and I’m sitting different. But I tend to sit secure in it and don’t slide forward which is a big plus and the wheels glide effortlessly! I call it my Cadillac. The 3rd day was another full day from 8:30 until 5:15 or 5:30. Going home, I really noticed a lot of pain and soreness in my knees. I was hoping it was just the busyness of the week and a bit having to get used to sitting properly at a different height and nothing new to worry about.  After a night’s rest I felt a little less sore and less worried. I think the chair is a keeper. Funny how something so simple can make such a difference.

 

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I found my new chair!

  1. A friend had the same problem and when she got the right chair, it made all the difference in the world. Blessings to you.

    Like

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I think the only way to buy a chair is in person, it is the only way you know for sure that it is going to be right for you. Chairs are very hard to buy I think, the last time I bought an office chair, I went to 5 different stores before I found one that I thought would be right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

