Chart: Nearly Half of All Americans Don’t Pay Income Taxes

"YOU ARE ONE OF 50,000,000 AMERICANS WHO ...

Image via Wikipedia

Chart: Nearly Half of All Americans Don’t Pay Income Taxes. This article left me hanging. I wanted more information. Nearly 50% of Americans don’t pay income taxes! I have been paying into the government coffers since I was, hmmm, maybe 18. I am now 62 years old. I want to know who doesn’t pay income tax. Illegal aliens? sure. People on welfare? maybe, I’m not sure. If so, they are getting twice the benefits I am…free handouts and no taxes. Who else? I don’t know, but I want to know. I don’t even know how to find out. This just made me wanting to know more and a little hot at another example of unfairness for the working class of this country. Where is that infamous change we were supposed to get?

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chart: Nearly Half of All Americans Don’t Pay Income Taxes

  1. catsopinion says:

    Definatly interesting. I wonder how they even know this. If the gov knows all of these people who don’t pay, I would think they’d do something about it. Maybe collecting these taxes would help the deficit.
    I’ve heard about celebrities and other ‘well-off’ people getting by without paying, which is crap! (Nicholas Cage was one) But I wouldn’t know who else either. Even for the time I spent on unemployment I think I will pay taxes.

    Like

  2. Random Traveler says:

    I found an article from Huffington Post. It’s kind of long but does mention the 14 million food insecure children that live in our country because their parents can’t find jobs. I hope this link can shed a little light for you. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mobileweb/marian-wright-edelman/hunger-in-america_b_1269450.html

    Another possible explanation for those that arent paying aside from the unemployed is people on disability (SSI). They arent required to pay. In fact, they aren’t required to file. If you feel irate, direct it towards those that take advantage. People who go out of their way to avoid working and milk the system for all it’s worth. My neighbor is an example of that. She is on SSI but works a number of under the table jobs, mostly housekeeping, to have more. My thought is this, if she’s able to clean houses that often why is she getting disability?

    Also, I am one of the nearly half. I’m not proud, but I’m not ashamed either. I take care of my mother, who has dementia, full-time. I make a total of $547 a month after paying Medicare, social security and a stupid union due that does nothing for me. So, the government has decided that I don’t make enough to pay federal or state taxes. If I could I would be out there making that amount that would demand I pay. But, who will take care of my mother? So, I satisfy myself with the thought that not only am I helping my mom to stay in her home, but I am also saving the state thousands of dollars by keeping her out of the nursing home. After all, it will be the state that pays for it via Medicare and Medicaid.

    Like

    • estherlou says:

      Thanks for all of the good information. You are certainly not who the article is talking about, but your neighbor is. Good grief. I’m always a little surprised at how some people think nothing of trying to ‘work the system’ for their own benefit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

