I’ve lived a sheltered life!

Grammy Award

Image via Wikipedia

I have lived a sheltered life. Mostly out of fear, but somewhat out of lack of opportunity. I grew up feeling I was different, always on the outside looking in at the ‘popular’ or ‘cool’ or ‘beautiful’ people. I never fit the mold. I was a chubby child, extremely shy, and started wearing glasses in the 4th grade…all social stigmas. I also tend to be a homebody. I consider my house my sanctuary…the one place I can go at the end of the day to escape the world. I can take off my shoes, get comfortable and relax.

A lot of my sheltered lifestyle is self-imposed. As I got older, I became more conservative. I don’t watch R-rated movies. I hate the profanity, I hate the voyeuristic sexual content and innuendo that seems to be rampant in most sitcoms and movies. PG-13 movies are sometimes worse. They have propagated the lie that using God’s name as a swear word is perfectly acceptable. I hate that even more than I hate f-bombs. After all, I grew up on Richard Pryor and Eddie Murphy as stand up comedians and at least those words are totally ‘out there’ and honest.

A disadvantage in being sheltered, is I can’t always ‘read’ people. I tend to believe what they say until someone else points out their lie. I’m not saying everyone lies, but a great many people lie so often, it is a lifestyle they find difficult to keep track of. The sad part is when you let your guard down, trust someone, and then are lied to. Casual acquaintances don’t touch you deeply and you usually can shrug those off. It is the ones who get under your skin, touch you in unexpected ways, the ones who gain your trust and the ones who can step on that trust and your feelings without realizing how deeply they have disappointed. Those are the ones who cause us to withdraw a little, become a little more jaded and cynical and cause that trickle-down effect that affects how we react to the next person in our lives. So we learn to live two-sided…we can be cynical on the one hand and can also trusting…a curious way to live.

Because of my choices, I never see most of the movies at the Academy Awards and wouldn’t approve of most of them. The same thing happens with what I choose to read. I never found a book with an R-rating on it so have become careful about what I will pay to read. I am no longer interested in gratuitous sex or violence. I am not entertained by that. I have never liked ‘slasher’ or ‘blood and guts’ or extreme psychological thrillers. What’s left? you say? I have lived with mood swings and depression in the past, so staying on a level keel and striving for peace and stress-free living is important to me. I like Christian novels and like some autobiographies and political or good guy/bad guys stories. I tend not to respect an author or even an actor who can’t portray anger without strong profanity. Showing my age, I suppose, but still my choice.

Another thing that I am ignorant about, is various types of music. An odd thing coming from a former music major, but I tend to like only a couple types of music. I have listened almost exclusively to Christian music for the past 20 some odd years. I do like Southern Gospel Gaither-style. They have the best harmony. I also have discovered Country Music. That is interesting since as a girl I hated ‘country twang’ like Loretta, Conway etc. I love the standards now like Alan Jackson, Toby Keith, Reba, Rascal Flatt, Trait Akins, Brad Paisley, the Band Perry, and Taylor Swift. I used to believe most couldn’t sing, couldn’t write and couldn’t play, but most are extremely talented and hard-working musicians. Funny how we tend to change.  I’m watching the Grammys and find I am clueless about most of the music which is another sign of my  sheltered life. I used to want to be ‘well-rounded’ in everything, especially in reading, or general knowledge, but I guess it can’t be helped. We all gravitate sooner or later to what we like and enjoy the most and don’t worry about the rest. I’ll just have to continue to enjoy my sheltered life. I never saw the point of someone singing in their underwear anyway. Don’t they trust the music or the song?  Something to think about.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’ve lived a sheltered life!

  1. Random Traveler says:

    I can respect how you feel and in a lot of cases I can agree. With music, there’s a lot out there I wouldn’t even recommend anymore. Regarding profanity and sexual content, they can be just as bad as movies. However, you saw Adele, she won 4 Grammy’s tonight, including album of the year. I highly recommend you give her a listen. She’s more blues/soul, but has crossed over into the pop genre. She keeps it clean and she keeps it real. She truly does care about her music and her fans. There’s a DVD I’m going to get of her performing in concert, the last song she sings on there is Someone Like You and when she invites the audience to sing with her, she starts to tear up a bit. She puts her heart into it all. What I also thought was amazing about her performance tonight on the Grammy’s is she had vocal cord surgery not that long ago, but was able to perform her hit Rolling In The Deep flawlessly tonight.

    Like

    • estherlou says:

      It is interesting, but only heard of Adele last week at work. I was actually impressed by her. She dressed conservatively, no hype, and her voice was exceptional. I’m glad to hear my impression is really how she is. I’ll be watching to hear more from her.

      Like

      • Random Traveler says:

        I’m not sure when she’ll be putting out another album. As I had mentioned, she had vocal cord surgery not long ago and was talking about taking a break. Her performing on the Grammy’s was really surprising to me. However, she has two albums out “19” and “21”. I think they’re titled according to her age, which I think is cute. She’s only 23. Anyway, they can be found on Amazon and they’re reasonably priced.

        Like

  2. 1stjoeyanna says:

    As I read your blog, you mention being sheltered, to me it sounds as if you’re content! Being content is a great thing to be! Congratulations to your convictions! 🙂

    Like

  3. Estherlou, I really enjoyed this post. You could have been writing about me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

