I miss bubble baths!

Three rubber ducks in foam bath

Image via Wikipedia

Taking a bubble bath used to be one of my favorite things. It was truly a “Calgon” moment. I would just soak, add more hot water with my toes when it got cool, and read a book in blissful privacy. It was never a bath, but a time of pure relaxation. The steam, the smell, the bubbles all contributed to the mood of the experience. Sigh. The trouble with getting older is there are always a few things that you lose. You know, like the ability to open jars easily, or being able to work on 3 or 4 hours of sleep. Since I have a problem with my knees, I miss being able to walk. I see people running up a flight of stairs and I sigh. I would love to just be able to walk up one or two steps. Squatting down or sitting on your haunches to talk to a child is a thing I marvel at. I tend to be careful and more fearful in my old age, but I think I’d like to be able to ride a bicycle again. I remember the breeze in my hair. I could go on and on, but the thing I miss the most are my bubble baths. I can no longer step into a bathtub and I really miss those soaks. Simple pleasures are sometimes the things we need to cherish. They don’t always last.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I miss bubble baths!

  1. wordangell says:

    Life is so frustrating when my head says I want to do stuff and my body says, I dare you! I relate to this post completely. M

    Like

  2. Erica says:

    I’ve been spoiled by hot showers. While in my teens and as a child I took fruity bubble baths and now, just to begin my day quickly, I’ll take showers day and night and can go on about the day.

    I love the picture of the duckies!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

