“Acts of God”

This is the second logo for CMT when it was Co...

Image via WikipediaImage via Wikipedia

I was watching the CMT Insider show. It was showing some highlights of various country stars and some of the happenings of 2010. One was the clip showing that freak storm that blew in right before Sugarland was to perform at the Indiana state fair. They were just about to go on stage when the extremely high wind grabbed their stage, awnings, and hangings, and twisted it and toppled it all into the crowd of people waiting for the show to begin. 45 people were injured and 7 lost their lives in that terrible unforseen happening. The clip mentioned several law suits were filed against Sugarland and the fair. In telling my husband about it, he said, “Well sure. There will always be lawsuits filed for “acts of God”. I immediately wondered why we always call floods, hurricanes and freak accidents “acts of God”? They would be better described as freaks of nature. “Acts of God” paints a mind picture of a vindictive, mischievous entity flicking a finger here or there causing global catastrophes for entertainment. That is certainly not the God I know and love. I think we should call things what they are–hurricanes, floods, or freak accidents of nature. I guess it is only natural to look for someone to blame and God is handy.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.