Obsessive/compulsive? or wishy/washy?

Harvest Moon's logo

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve always thought I tended to be obsessive/compulsive. I called it an “all or nothing” mind-set. I’ve had a weight problem my whole life. I’ve been on diet after diet with success that fell off later. What always worked for me was the “all or nothing” mindset. To lose, I had to stay away from anything I used to binge on. So, I gave it up. If I tried “just eat a little, it won’t hurt you”, it could sabotage me big time. Over time, I’ve seen that obsessive/compulsive is just a part of my personality. I thought it might be just that my attention span changes. I would crochet afghans for 6 months until I was sick of crocheting. After that, if I couldn’t manage to finish an afghan in one weekend, I’d get bored and start a new one so I could switch colors or patterns to keep my interest up. Now, it seems to work similarly with anything I do for recreation. I got a wii a couple of years ago and have a few games I like. Dawn of Discovery, Animal Crossing, several Harvest Moon series,  Thrillville, and Rune Factory Frontier are the ones I like. Animal Crossing is simple and cute, so it is not too addictive. You can play it for an hour and turn it off, if you want. On all the others, there are long-term goals to work toward, and I would find myself playing hours on end, days on end, trying to get to that goal. I’d play so much, that I would get burned out and have to quit playing for a few months. Then I began blogging in earnest and wrote several times a week. I would read news and do a lot of reading of other writers to get ideas and blog about that.  And then I remembered I used to write and answer discussions on mylot. I never got compulsive about that, because you would have to write hours on end and begin many discussions and answer them all to actually make a little money. It’s fun to read and respond to people who are interested in the same types of things you are. There is one man who writes copiously on politics and he has a unique and interesting way of looking at things. It was a way to help me stay informed on various topics. So, for a time, I found it was easier to write short blurbs of discussion on mylot instead of writing a full blog. Sorry…I got lazy. Or, there would be a marathon of NCIS on tv one weekend, and I would watch tv for hours on end. Or I would spend the entire weekend reading a book.  But, despite all of my various interests, I love blogging and I like writing. So, even though I tend to jump around from one interest to the other, you will still find me around WordPress reading and writing blogs.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Obsessive/compulsive? or wishy/washy?

  1. cuhome says:

    Glad you’ll still be blogging. I enjoy reading your entries!

    Like

  2. ryeder says:

    One is never too old to learn. Drop by a local range, get some lessons and start putting them down range…and enjoy….

    Like

Leave a Reply

