I am thankful for my job!

I have decorated cakes since 1980. I worked in one cake shop for almost 10 years and quit to take a 6 month break. I went back to work at another cake shop and have been there ever since. I remember a few years ago, looking at my life and what I’ve accomplished. I wondered at that time when a “job” became a “career”? I don’t think I planned it that way. It just happened. When I was young, I wanted to sing and be able to make a living at it. Well, I quit college after 2 years, got married, had two kids and life went on. When the kids were grown, I went back to school and finished my degree in music just so I could say I did. It was an amazing experience. I was older than my peers, or my peers were now my teachers. And I was now supposed to remember what I read and be able to account for it. I was used to reading romance novels. I got my degree in my middle 40’s. It was fun to learn again and gain affirmation as a person with a bit of talent. But, meanwhile, I was decorating cakes. Over the years I specialized in wedding cakes until that is what I did more than any other thing. When you do one thing for 30-40 hours a week year after year, you get good at it. I love being creative. My work never gets boring. It is not usually repetitive so it is always fresh or new. The down side is dealing with the public. Actually, that is not always a down side either. It makes for great behind-the-scenes conversations! Anyone who has ever dealt with the public knows exactly what I am talking about. Anyway, since I have done this so long, I am finally making a bit more than minimum wage. Not an excessive amount, since I started back when $5 an hour was a good wage, but livable. The thing is, the economy is doing it’s best to make it difficult to live on that type of money. And working in “Mom and Pop” businesses, the kind that are the backbone of our country, the small businesses, usually don’t have all the big time benefits like sick days and insurance and more than one week of vacation a year. So, you weigh the pros and cons. I love what I do, versus more money or more stress and repetitive, boring , same old work. I think I have it good.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I am thankful for my job!

  1. Pingback: When I am BORED… | Your Travel Buddy

  2. cuhome says:

    Here! Here! I love your attitude. I, too, would prefer doing what I love doing, and making a bit (lot?) less money. It’s the satisfaction that comes with creating something you’re good at creating! Good for You!

    Like

  3. I also applaud your attitiude and the cake is realy spectacular

    Like

  4. Ula says:

    Thanks for the inspiring post! I think you have it good for sure. There are few things more gratifying in life than earning an income for doing something you love. Really enjoyed the read 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

