Georgia city makes $4K from saggy-pants ban – GlobalPost

you see this guy just about everywhere , baggy...

Image via Wikipedia

Georgia city makes $4K from saggy-pants ban – GlobalPost.

This is hilarious! If you are caught wearing pants or skirts 3 inches below the hips, showing skin or underwear, you will receive a citation. The first one is $20. Each one after that can cost you up to $200. They are allowing 40 hours of community service in lieu of the fine. Florida became the 2nd state after Arkansas to enact a statewide law addressing the baggy pants issue by banning saggy pants at schools. The bans are being considered in 8 other states. It began when officials decided this type of dress was thought to be related to delinquency, poor learning and crime. (I think it’s a good idea just to please the “fashion police”. I’m tired of looking at baggy, falling down, saggy drawers and underwear. I don’t even know how they manage to walk!) The ordinance went into effect in Albany less than 9 months ago. Since then 187 citations have been issued and fines collected amounted to $3,916. What a great way to add money to the state coffers!  Democratic State Senator Gary Siplin of Orlando welcomed students back to school this year by passing out 200 leather belts. All I have to say is…it’s about time!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Georgia city makes $4K from saggy-pants ban – GlobalPost

  1. Well, I’m normally against any kind of censorship. But I’m with ya on this one, just cause I’m sick of looking at it too. Girls with their thong underwear sticking out of the back of their jeans and shorts are the absolute worst. What happened to boys wearing jeans that actually fit? When I was young a guy wanted to show off his ass in Levi’s to a girl. They need to get something like that here in Iowa.

    Like

  2. hugmamma says:

    i’m in total agreement…don’t like seeing tops of underpants…or exposed hip bones. like unmentionables…tucked away… 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

