Todays Rant!

Avon products

Image via Wikipedia

I’m 61 years old. I’ve worked since I was about 16 or 17. I took off about a year with each child and then went back to work. In this day of scary economy we all work hard for the little we get! I work about 32 hours a week at my job. I am partly handicapped and there is not much out there I can physically do for some extra money. I can’t go to the store by myself…someone has to take me with my wheelchair. So I decided to try selling Avon online. So far, I have a few regulars and loyal family members who order. It has not turned into the extra income I wanted yet, but it is paying for the catalogues and samples I like to give out and paying for the Avon I want to use personally! So, for now, I guess I could call it my new hobby! What I’m ranting about today are the people out there who are out to scam you, get something for nothing, and who take advantage of those of us who are legitimately trying to help ourselves. I have gotten 3 separate email requests through my Avon web page in the past 2-3 months. All they do is leave a name and an email address and ask for me to contact them about Avon products they want to order. The first one I got excited about. Oh boy! A new customer! They wanted to order several hundred dollars of Avon and bring me a check when they got to town to pick it up. Their credit card was “in flux” or some weird something or other but they really wanted to order this for their store or some such thing. Ok. That right there is enough for your inner radar to pay attention to. I contacted Avon and they told me about scams going around. They warned me I would be responsible for whatever these people spent and stuck me with. Hello! File 13! The second email I got I was better prepared for. Same type of story…wanting to order several hundred dollars worth of Avon and would give me a credit card number when they came into town and contacted me! I forwarded this email on to Avon and didn’t bother responding. I just got another one this morning with just a name and an email address saying they wanted to order some Avon. Well, hello! If you were on my web page…you could have already ordered some Avon! So this time, my email response was to thank them for visiting my web page and that if they had trouble navigating the site, I’d be happy to help them. I doubt if I’ll hear from them again. I just don’t understand why there are so many people out there trying to cheat those of us who are hard-working and doing what we have to do stay afloat! We are all hurting. But how about a little honest hard work instead of trying to cheat the innocent and naive! Give me a break!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Todays Rant!

  1. I love, love, love this post! I am so glad you did not get scammed but even happier you posted your experience. So, many people are being victimized by too many scams.

    Thank you for the awareness!

    Best regards,

    Heidi

    Like

  2. I am amazed at how many e-mails I get in my spam box from people overseas needing a place to put their millions of dollars. Or the inheritance lawyer who can’t find a Next of Kin for a billionaire and wants split the $ with you if you help with something. Or heck, what about the one someone sent with your e-mail saying you were stranded somewhere and needed people to wire money?

    Does anyone actually fall for any of these things??

    Like

    • estherlou says:

      You are so right. I got a call from the Deacon at my church one time. Several of them had gotten an email from me saying I was stranded in Europe somewhere. Knowing that I am partly handicapped and that this was SO unlikely, they didn’t believe it, but called to tell me my email was compromised. I was so shocked! How can they steal your email address book? I changed my email address that very day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

