I am so Frustrated with my Acer

Open Acer Aspire 5601 notebook

Image via Wikipedia

I have an Acer laptop. I really love it. My complaint is the power cord to plug it in to charge the battery. When I got this computer as a hand-me-down, there was no power cord so I couldn’t even turn it on. The repair shop charged us $100 for a power cord and battery and some repair work. Altogether it cost around $200 to get this computer running again. The power cord worked for quite a long time and then it quit charging. I was turning the cord one way and then another to get it to meet the connection, and had even tried taping it so it wouldn’t move so it would charge and not run out of battery power while I was using it! It became really frustrating! I finally looked on eBay for people selling power cords. I found one for the exact model number of my Acer Aspire so I ordered one. It was around $20 and we assumed the repair place had gypped us since their cord was a generic one. Well, this new cord worked great for about a week, and now I’m having the same problem with the plug-in meeting the connection in the computer. I’m ready to pull out my hair! I guess I’ll have to go back to the internet and look again for Acer Aspire power cords for my model number and try to find one from the Acer people. What a pain.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am so Frustrated with my Acer

  1. Repairing computers is a real waste of time and money nowadays. A laptop’s life is supposed to be around 3 years. After that, it just starts to disintegrate little by little. Given that you can buy a really good laptop starting at $300, it hardly makes sense to spend time on parts and repairs.

    Like

  2. cuhome says:

    Had same problem with my (fairly new) computer. Turns out, it wasn’t the power cord, it was the connector INSIDE the laptop that had to be replaced. Somehow it got bend. Fortunately, it was covered by warranty. Don’t know what you’d be looking at without warranty. Best Buy is where we took ours, a 2-week turnaround time. Did a nice job fixing it. Sorry you’re having trouble.

    Like

  3. Karen says:

    I feel your pain. I have a hand me down laptop too, it is my baby, but the battery doesn’t work in it, so it is permanently tied to my desk! Oh well – that is the cost of inheriting a hand me down computer I guess.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Here Are A Few Reasons Why You Should Get The Acer Aspire One Notebook | CompSights

Leave a Reply

