Bed Bugs, BedBugs, Survery, 2011 Bugs Without Borders Survey, Infestation, Pests, Pest Management, Pest Control, Prevention, Insects, Bugs, National Pest Management Association, NPMA, University of Kentucky

Bedbug

Image via Wikipedia

Bed Bugs, BedBugs, Survery, 2011 Bugs Without Borders Survey, Infestation, Pests, Pest Management, Pest Control, Prevention, Insects, Bugs, National Pest Management Association, NPMA, University of Kentucky. We’ve all heard about the beg bug infestation in the US. It seems it is getting worse and spreading. Bed bugs are the size and color of a flat apple seed, like to travel and will hide in suitcases, boxes and shoes to be near humans, which is their food supply! UGH! The can be found in mattress and headboard, behind baseboards, electrical switch plates, picture frames, wallpaper,upholstery and in furniture crevices! OMG. Sounds worse and worse!

“In the past year… the numbers of professionals who treated college dorms, hotels, nursing homes, office buildings, schools and daycare centers, hospitals, public transportation and movie theaters for bed bugs have all increased compared to last year. More specifically:

  • College dorms (54 percent, up from 35 percent a year ago)
  • Hotels/motels (80 percent, up from 67 percent)
  • Nursing homes (46 percent, up from 25 percent)
  • Office buildings (38 percent, up from 18 percent)
  • Schools and day care centers (36 percent, up from 10 percent)
  • Hospitals (31 percent, up from 12 percent)
  • Transportation (train/bus/taxi) (18 percent up from nine percent)
  • Movie theaters (17 percent, up from five percent)
  • Survey respondents also report finding bed bugs in retail stores, laundromats, libraries, restaurants and airplanes.

This is just insidious! What used to be a cute saying…”night, night, sleep tight, don’t let the bed bugs bite” is now a big problem. I’m thankful I don’t travel. I’ve never seen a bed bug and hope I never do! If you do…call a professional!

http://www.pestworld.com/Bed-Bug-Survey-2011

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bed Bugs, BedBugs, Survery, 2011 Bugs Without Borders Survey, Infestation, Pests, Pest Management, Pest Control, Prevention, Insects, Bugs, National Pest Management Association, NPMA, University of Kentucky

  1. whatsaysyou says:

    Oh my goodness. This is scary and I don’t like bed bugs too. However, I am told that bedbugs can travel from the hotel to a person’s humble abode by getting a lift in the traveller’s luggage. That is not all, bedbugs can hide in electrical sockets in the walls! Yikes.

    Like

  2. cuhome says:

    Yummy.

    Did that survey say anything about statistics for the home environment?????

    If ya have a few minutes, I’d like you to stop by and take a look at a little fella I found wandering around the . . . . just kidding.

    But, seriously, what about homes?

    Like

  3. Barbee says:

    Ewwww…totally disgusting!! But thanks for the info…good to know.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Bedbugs not as scary as pesticides used on them | Bedbug Bed Bugs Bedbugs

Leave a Reply

