Did you know answering machines were obsolete?

Answering machines have enabled phone tag to t...

Image via Wikipedia

Our old answering machine sometimes decides to just start announcing for no reason. It talks to itself all the time. It has gotten quite irritating, so I’ve asked hubby to buy us a new one. He had an unused gift certificate for Best Buy so he thought he’d start there. He couldn’t find one anywhere in the store. When he asked someone, he was told answering machines are obsolete. What? Many families don’t even have land lines anymore and use the voicemail on their cell phones. Wow. I haven’t even learned how to set up my voice mail yet. I’ve just recently started using my cell phone to actually talk to some people instead of just for texting out-of-town. Who knew? Obsolete? Amazing. I guess 61 is getting a little old. LOL…by the way…Walmart still carries them.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Did you know answering machines were obsolete?

  1. cuhome says:

    Thanks for subscribing, Estherlou! I enjoy reading your entries, they bring a chuckle to my day, which is a very, very good thing!
    Cuhome

    Like

  2. cuhome says:

    Obsolete in their own minds, maybe, but that’s not always a good source of information, is it? (We would know, I’m 60). I’d say, as long as some of us out here have an answering machine, they can’t possibly be obsolete~~ I mean, what does that say about US? Never mind answering that one. My new mantra: ‘I’m not obsolete, I’m not obsolete, I’m not obsolete . . . ”

    See what that guy/gal in the Best Buy store has done? They have no idea they’ve caused someone to change their bedtime mantra, and possibly their whole life, possibly causing years of intensive therapy just to rewind and get back in touch with what it was like not to be obsolete. No idea at all. Their words, quite possibly, may have changed the world. . . ok. Maybe I’m getting a bit ahead of myself, but I’m just sayin’ ~~ you never know!

    The lesson here is: don’t ever say anything to anyone at all. You never know what it could cause down the road for that person. So, just smile. And keep your mouth shut. Especially if you work at Best Buy.

    Like

  3. Jeff Silvey says:

    Yes, everything’s different now. We don’t have a landline anymore. I still joke whenever we come home after a day out and say, “Let’s check the machine, do we have any messages?” And my wife just looks at me like I’m crazy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

