Are we addicted to our Technology?

English: Various remote controls fot TV-set, D...

Image via Wikipedia

Most people would consider “technology” as our computers, IPads, IPods, hand-held video games and the like. I thought I’d look up technology in the dictionary.  According to dictionary.com this is what they said…

tech·nol·o·gy   [tek-nol-uh-jee]

–noun

1.the branch of knowledge that deals with the creation and use of technical means and their interrelation with life, society, and the environment, drawing upon such subjects as industrial arts, engineering, applied science, and pure science.
2.the terminology of an art, science, etc.; technical nomenclature.
3.a technological  process, invention, method, or the like.
4.the sum of the ways in which social groups provide themselves with the material objects of their civilization.
So this made me look around. I enjoy my ceiling fan and my oscillating fans. I always have on the tv or the radio or play cds. I enjoy my laptop and my wireless router. I depend on the electricity to make it all work. I cook with my microwave and have no idea how it works. By the definition, it could mean the can opener I use every time I open a can. It cold also mean the process itself that allows us to enjoy those canned goods and keeps them safe to eat and fresh for a certain amount of time. I certainly enjoy and depend on my indoor plumbing and running water! I enjoy playing games on my wii from time to time, and use the wii to watch Netflix instantly. I like watching movies on my dvd player and depend on the tv and dvd remote control. I use my cell phone every day and keep up with my out of town son using text messages. I use the remote control to open and close my garage door every time I want to use the car. We like to use online bill paying options with our bank and I love ordering Avon online. If you go by the definition of technology, it is all around us, intertwined in our way of life and we depend on it for all that we do. It is a part of the last several generations. So…yes, I guess we are addicted to our technology, but that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. It’s just the way we live.
About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are we addicted to our Technology?

  1. whatsaysyou says:

    Technology is the greatest invention man has made and it is amazing to know how it enriches our lives. Technology is not a bad thing as long as we don’t overuse it or abuse for selfish and malicious purposes

    Like

Leave a Reply

