in.gredients…a new concept in Grocery Stores

Official seal of the National Organic Program

Image via Wikipedia

in.gredients. A new concept in green living has begun. in.gredients will be the first package-free and zero waste grocery store in the United States.They will carry organic and natural foods and will use locally grown foods. The idea is to use reusable containers to carry your products home from the store. Items carried in the store will include: Produce,   Organic grains (rice, beans, oats, cereals, and the like), Spices (enough to fill your spice cabinet), Loose leaf tea and coffee beans, Dried fruits and nuts, Natural baking ingredients (flours, sugars, yeast, etc), Oils (olive, vinegar, and so forth), Dairy (milk, yogurt, eggs, cheese), Local beer and wine (bring your clean and empty growlers and wine bottles) ,Household items (cleaners, toiletries, etc).All of these items will be Package-free or  Package-light (recyclable packaging that’s required to ensure food safety);and either: Locally grown (as in, it came out of Central Texas dirt) or Locally sourced (coffee beans, for example, aren’t grown here – but can be “sourced” from a local roaster)and will be: Organic or All-natural (when organic is unavailable). This is an interesting concept and the first store will open in 2011 in Austin, Texas. Check out all the info on their web page and be on the lookout for new developments.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

