A Blast from 1966…

The original starship Enterprise

Image via Wikipedia

I was 16 in 1966 when Star Trek came out.  I’ve watched every Star Trek series that ever came out since that time. Netfliks recently acquired the original series for instant play. I started watching it, knowing it might be a little cheezy. I found the acting stiff, stilted and sometimes really bad. Spock hadn’t developed his well-known personality yet and spoke in a rigid, higher-pitched voice. He even smiled in the 1st episode. The sub-space messages were printed out like a fax and all of the hi-tech weapons or tools were juvenile and cheap. The 1st communicator was bulky and amusing. I was waiting for the better flip-out version. When  they were on a remote planet, there were tumbleweeds. I realize they were making class-M planets similar to earth, but I found it funny. Despite all of these drawbacks, I still found the show compelling and saw why it became such a phenomenom. The first episode was the series pilot with Jeffrey Hunter as Captian Pike. The second episode was the 1st show of the series with the original cast of Captain Kirk, Dr. McCoy, Scotty and Spock in place. It was odd, but I will enjoy watching them all again.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Blast from 1966…

  1. homespunlife says:

    I still love watching the original series, despite the “dated-ness” of it. When we were girls, my sister and I actually owned blueprints of the original Enterprise, plus a concordance listing every original episode, when it originally aired, a plot synopsis, cast members, etc. It was like a book version of IMDB before IMDB had even been imagined. -tess

    Like

  2. wdednh says:

    I admit, I am a Trekkie and proud of it. Every Show is special. Thank you for this post to memory lane .

    Like

  3. Pingback: A Blast from 1966… (via Estherlou’s Blog) | YOU DECIDE

  4. hugmamma says:

    Reading this made me feel I was looking at myself in the mirror! Eerie… I too was 16 in 1966 and watched Star Trek. And like you, no matter how cheezy the original series…it just reminds me of the good old days before computers produced spectacular visual effects. I liked that actors had to act with one another, and not carry on alone in front of a green screen, imagining all that is supposed to be going on around him.

    give me the simple life…well, except when it comes to blogging. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

