Do you take the red pill? or the blue pill?

The first appearance of the concept of the &qu...

Image via Wikipedia

“You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.” -Morpheus (from the film The Matrix)
The terms were popularized in science fiction culture via the 1999 film The Matrix. In the movie, the main character Neo is offered the choice between a red pill and a blue pill with the red pill leading to his “escape” from the Matrix, a fictional computer-generated world, while the blue pill will allow him to remain in the world with no knowledge that anything is wrong. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_pill_and_blue_pill
This sounds to me like it’s “damned if you do and damned if you don’t”. All of us, at one time or another would prefer to live in fantasy…there is nothing wrong, bills will miraculously get paid, everyone has all their needs met, and everything is right in the world. But, even when we do this, we know it is only temporary, it is not reality. The flip side of the Matrix…the blue pill, doesn’t sound better. We can live in the ‘real’ world, but how can we do that without seeing what is wrong around us? That is just another form of fantasy, living with ‘rose colored glasses’ or living with our ‘heads in the sand’. Sorry for the clichés, but they say a lot. None of us can live in a fantasy no matter which side we are on. There will always be wars to fight, injustices to right, and goals to achieve. We must always use our faith in God and our morality to direct us in all we do.The fantasy is for the occasionally visit, but we can’t live our lives there.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do you take the red pill? or the blue pill?

  1. wdednh says:

    I tell you What, I take Gods pill and no other…. :)l

    Like

    • Teresa Silverthorn says:

      Good point, Estherlou – but I chose the blue pill a long time ago. Maybe when I was born?

      I wonder if most people even know there’s a choice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

