1970 Revisited

Logo Apollo 13

Image via Wikipedia

I pressed a post the other day about what had happened on my birth year. We’re having our 41st anniversary Monday June 13th. I found looking up my birth year so interesting, I thought I’d revisit the year we got married.

Average Cost of new house $23,450.00
Average Income per year $9,400.00
Average Monthly Rent $140.00
Cost of a gallon of Gas 36 cents
Shaefer Pen $9.95
United States postage Stamp 6 cents
Sports Illustrated 15 cents
Mans Westclox Watch $18.00
AMC Gremlin $1879

The Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty goes into effect after ratification by 43 nations

Paul McCartney announces that the Beatles have disbanded

Apollo 13 mission to moon abandoned

Japan becomes the worlds “fourth space power”, after the Soviet Union (1957), the United States (1958), and France (1965).

First Earth Day celebrated

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA ) begins operation

US Invades Cambodia

100,000 people demonstrate in Washington DC against the Vietnam War

Popular Culture

  • The Isle of Wight Festival takes place . 600,000 people attend the largest rock festival of all time. Artists include Jimi Hendrix, The Who, The Doors, Chicago, Richie Havens, John Sebastian, Joan Baez, Ten Years After, Emerson, Lake and Palmer and Jethro Tull.
  • Jimi Hendrix dies of barbiturate overdose in London
  • Janis Joplin dies in a cheap motel from a heroin overdose
  • The first New York marathon is run in New York
  • Simon and Garfunkel release their final album together, Bridge Over Troubled Water. The Title Track won the Grammy for song of the year.

Popular Films

  • M*A*S*H,
  • Patton
  • Woodstock
  • Hello, Dolly!
  • Catch-22
  • On Her Majesty’s Secret Service

Popular Music and songs
The Beatles with ” Let it Be ”
The Jackson 5 with ” ABC and I want you back ”
Edwin Starr with ” War ”

Technology 1970

    • First Jumbo Jet goes into service
    • Concorde makes its first supersonic flight (700 mph/1127 km/h).
    • The Soviet Moon Rover becomes the first remote-controlled robot to travel on the moon’s surface
    • The First Computer Chess Tournament takes Place
    • IBM announces the successors to the IBM System/360 family the IBM System/370 with improved multi processor support.
    • After many years of court battles damages awarded to Thalidomide victims

 

 

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

