Celebrating my birth year…1961 | jeanne’s blog

January 17: Beetle in U.S.

Image via Wikipedia

Celebrating my birth year…1961 | jeanne’s blog.

I love reading stuff like this. It made me want to check out what happened the year I was born…1949.

NATO was established

Soviet Union tests its first atomic bomb

RCA perfects a system for broadcasting color television

The first Emmy Awards for US tv

The first Volkswagen beetle sold in the US

NBA was begun

The world’s 1st commercially available computer The Ferranti  Mark 1 was released

45’s were introduced

South Pacific debuts on Broadway

1st recorded case of snowfall in Los Angeles January 11

Average Cost of new house $7,450.00

Average wages per year $2,950.00

Cost of a gallon of Gas 17 cents

Average Cost of a new car $1,420.00

Minimum Hourly Wage Rate 70 cents per hour

Bacon per pound 50 cents
Interesting…

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

