Spelling anyone? a pet peeve…

Typing

One of my pet peeves is people who can’t spell. It’s not that they can’t spell, but that they either type too fast and make mistakes, or can’t spell and don’t care. That drives me crazy.  I was brought up with the importance of correct english in speech and in writing. And as a person who has liked to read my whole life, words and spelling have become something I pay attention to. I first noticed it when I went online with my first computer in 1999. People use email and social media and show the world their inability to spell or type correctly or their total apathy. That drives me crazy also. When I read someone’s blog and find incorrect spelling, I usually pass right on by. I can’t stand to spend the time trying to figure out what they might be trying to say. And the people who spell words so badly you look at them and say ‘What!?’ And the ones who use ‘text speak’ when they email.

I work in a cake shop. When the younger kids who work in our shop write out orders, they don’t know how to spell simple words like borders, or fondant…words we use in our business every day. Anyone can be ignorant and unlearned. What I can’t understand is not wanting to learn the correct way to spell something. They don’t seem to think it is important. That is a shame. To me, showing people we can’t spell and don’t care just shows how ignorant we are. And I can’t understand that they don’t care that people might see that about them. It is almost like a black mark against their character, against the way people see them. I guess it is my insecurity rearing its ugly head. I never wanted to do anything I could be judged for, at least not deliberately.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spelling anyone? a pet peeve…

  1. beckysefton says:

    I have to admit that I’m quite bad when it comes to spelling. If you look through my blogs you will find masses of typo’s and the like. It’s not because I don’t care or I’m lazy – I check over what I’ve written but sometimes it doesn’t click with me that “that’s spelt wrong”. I don’t like using WordPress’ spell checker but if I am in doubt I resort to the nineteenth century method: the dictionary!

    Like

  2. estherlou says:

    We all depend on spell checkers or dictionary.com. You are not the person I am talking about. It is the ones who consistantly spell words in a bizarre manner or use text speak when they type…I should have been more specific in my blog. I’ll have to edit it and add that. Thanks for reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

