Profanity?

swearing in cartoon
Image via Wikipedia

I read a blog today talking about dropping “f” bombs in blogs. The writer went on to discuss the pros and cons of using profanities to define a character in a book or in a movie. That really got me going. I don’t always leave comments, even when I “like” a blog, but this time I had a lot to say. After I posted my comment, I felt that perhaps it needed to be said as a blog of my own! LOL

Here is what I had to say. As a 61-year-old conservative, Christian, mother and grandma…I tend to lose respect for people who use a lot of profanities in their speech. If they use it in a blog, I feel more strongly about it because they had to take the time to type it in there, where in speech, you can give them the benefit of the doubt…perhaps it fell out of their mouth in anger or frustration. I don’t pay good money to hear that kind of language in the movies, and I don’t like it in my daily life. I think it shows a lack of respect for those around you. Yes, they might use it for shock value, but I also feel it shows a limit in their ability to express themselves. As for the character in a book, I can understand profanity defining the character, but I really don’t read those types of books either. I am quite picky about what I subject myself to. To cuss or not to cuss…that is the question.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Profanity?

  1. Great post thanks for sharing. You have a great layout here. I find blogging very useful. I enjoy helping other people in the network get started with their own little blog setups.

    Like

  2. cheri says:

    I have had this same discussion with my teenage daughters. I’ve commented to them about “what value do those words bring to the movie or song?” I especially can’t stand the F word. It is so unnecessary.

    Like

  3. Hi Estherlou! I saw you were on my site and subscribed, so I thought I’d take a little look/see at who you are. I read your bio. You seem like a really wonderful, witty, talented person that has love for God and family. I thought I’d do a little reading on your blog, and well…this title jumped out at me, so I thought it best I leave my comment here.
    Nearly my whole family are Christians, I am struggling myself nowadays so I guess you could call me backslidden. It’s not something I’m proud of mind you, but I don’t make excuses for it either. I don’t know where I am in my faith, and don’t want to lie about it. However, I do have the utmost respect for those that serve the Lord, and always try to be courteous in their presence by watching how I act and what language I use. I guess I feel they shouldn’t be subjected to something they might be offended by if I have it in my power to curb my tongue and actions. That being said, I thought out of courtesy I would give you a head’s up about my blog, before you begin reading it and find it offensive.
    I started my blog to try and give myself a voice and heal myself. A part of my doing that is not filtering what I want to say. The result is there are times I write things that aren’t for everyone’s eyes. If profanity suits how I feel while I’m writing it, I use it. I know you probably won’t understand or see the point, but this is just who I am at this particular place in my life. I wanted you to know that so you can make an informed decision whether you want to continue reading or not. The last thing I want to do is offend you. Anyway, now that I know where you are I might just stop by once in a while myself. I promise, if I leave a comment I’ll be a very good girl. 🙂

    Like

    • estherlou says:

      Thanks so much for you comments and your honesty. We all struggle at different times in our lives with our faith walk and with the things we are trying to improve with God’s help. I remember a time in my 20’s when I worked in a warehouse full of foul-mouthed women. I learned quickly to use what I call milder profanity, and it was commonplace for a few years. I finally turned loose of that way of talking after meeting a community of Nuns who became good friends to me. I was attracted to their holiness and wanted to learn from them and emulate them. They have been in my life, and prayed for me and my family for over 20 years now. What a gift they have been. Sorry for the long-winded aside, but wanted you to know I understand and wish you well on your journey. I will subscribe to your blog. If I find it offensive, I’ll skim over it. Again..thanks so much for your honesty. See you around. Good luck.

      Like

  4. pegoleg says:

    Profanity can be used for shock value, but only if it’s coming from someone who you would be shocked to hear saying it. If my Dad ever said “damn” or “hell” when we were kids, we knew there was going to be “hell” to pay.

    For most, it’s just a bad habit or cheap way to get laughs or reaction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

