A new Perspective?

Country Golden Sunrise

Image by Striking Photography by Bo Insogna via Flickr

I just read a blog called Walking in the rain. It made me think of how our life becomes a series of routines that never change. We can so easily get into a rut. I go to work on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays. I am a cake decorator. I do wedding cakes, decorated cookies, petit fors and most anything that needs done. I decorate rice krispie treats and decorated cakes for the customer who wants to walk in and pick up something on the spur of the moment. I also do a lot of prep work for future cakes. Last week I made a fondant 3-d lady bug, a baby bottle, a pacifier, a Bible, and loops for bows on tops of cakes. It is fun and creative.  I get up, bathe, eat oatmeal for breakfast, and drive to work. I leave work, have dinner with hubby and some days with daughter, watch tv and blog and check Facebook, and go to bed. On Sundays, I try to go to church with hubby, have lunch together, and spend the afternoon napping, or resting, watching tv, blogging, checking Facebook and emails. I am off on Mondays and Tuesdays. I spend them reading blogs and writing blogs, checking emails and Facebook and watching tv. Seeing a pattern here? Despite the descriptions, I enjoy my work and the chance to be creative and to grow as a creative person. But, by the end of the 4 days, I am physically and emotionally tired and ready to relax and nurture my mind and emotions. Right now, that is in reading and blogging. I spend time each day in praying and that is the inner core of strength I depend on. It keeps me sane. But, I can see I could use a new perspective. If I drive on a different road, perhaps I will see something new that will make me smile. If I notice a sunset, or a sunrise, I can admire God’s creation and feel blessed. If I feel the breeze on my face I can be refreshed. When I call and talk to my mother who lives out-of-state,  I can enjoy the moment and get that smile inside of touching and relating to family. If I talk to my son, I can feel admiration for the amazing father, husband, provider, and prayer warrior he has become despite the influence of his mother. When I spend time with my daughter, I enjoy the fellowship, the sharing of time, the sharing of interests and the friendship a grown daughter and mother can have. All I am trying to say is, despite our routines and our ruts, there are always things to notice, admire and relish. Take a moment or longer to recognize the wonders in your life. It’s better to admire the “haves” instead of yearning for the “have-nots”.

http://i95ride.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/walking-in-the-rain/

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I share my health stories and my experiences with Thrive. I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A new Perspective?

  1. This was really good! I know I can make being on the computer a time waster instead of a blessing. God has been dealing with me about moving more…getting outside…

    Like

  2. P.S. Thanks for following me.

    Like

  3. MiMi Atkins says:

    Wow! What a nice blog. I am glad to know you make cakes. My husband and I are having a wedding next year but I don’t live you live near the Gulf Coast.

    As for routines, they can make or break us. Being a writer, I live on the computer it seems and since I am working on my doctorate degree that doubles the computer life.

    At least you have people to share your life with. I am a military family and it’s just my daughter and I since my husband is deployed. I thank you for following my blog. I followed you back.

    Like

  4. sheila4hastenhome says:

    This is the truth! My big thing is watching out that my “routine” does not stop me from taking a moment aside when my 7-year-old asks me to cut out a paper plate “steering wheel” for her cardboard box “car”…or my 14-year-old asks me to trim her bangs…or my 16-year-old wants to tell me the latest news from his small-engine repair course…or my 1-year-old wants to play “Little People”…or hubby justs wants to talk. After too many years, I finally decided that life is too short to just constantly cram it full to the brim–often at the expense of joy and sanity! I really enjoyed your description of those “everyday” blessings! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

