The Most Hated Baby Names | Most Popular and Least Popular Names | Baby Name Trends | LiveScience

baby names for dummies

The Most Hated Baby Names | Most Popular and Least Popular Names | Baby Name Trends | LiveScience.

There are lists for everything and here is one for the most hated baby names. Here is the list.

Girls:

  1. Nevaeh (“Heaven” spelled backward and one of the most divisive names around, according to Wattenberg.)
  2. Destiny (People dislike names that confer a virtue onto a child, Wattenberg said — and many felt associated this name with exotic dancers.)
  3. Madison
  4. Mackenzie
  5. McKenna
  6. Addison (An example of a masculine named turned feminine, which many people dislike, Wattenberg said)
  7. Gertrude (People said this name is “ugly.”)
  8. Kaitlyn (For its “made-up” spelling.)
  9. Makayla
  10. Bertha
  11. Hope

Boys:

  1. Jayden
  2. Brayden
  3. Aiden
  4. Kaden (These rhyming names struck many as overdone, Wattenberg reported.)
  5. Hunter (Too much like a last name or “too violent.”)
  6. Hayden
  7. Bentley (People dislike brand-name names, Wattenberg found, calling them “trashy”)
  8. Tristan
  9. Michael (Too boring, according to some.)
  10. Jackson

I’m old school. You grew up knowing how to spell names, and now people spell them really crazy ways to be “unique”. All I think is how that child will never be able to spell his own name, and no one else will either. I grew up having people misspell my first name as well as my last name and it is a big pain. There are so many strange spellings now a days that an entire generation will grow up with this problem. You can check out the whole article if you like.

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Most Hated Baby Names | Most Popular and Least Popular Names | Baby Name Trends | LiveScience

  1. jdhays says:

    This is a great list! Pity the poor girl stuck with “Nevaeh.” There shouldn’t be any charge or fee for a legal name change from that one.

    Like

  2. Stephanie says:

    wow, I’m glad my daughter’s name is not on this list! thanks for being my first subscriber!

    Like

  3. whatsaysyou says:

    Yes, I have heard about the list very recently and come to think about it, those poor kids. Anyway, I have this friend who has this former high school classmate (a former straight A student who, sadly, has a mean girl attitude and always be) who became a mother a few years ago and named her son Texas (he would be 3 somewhere this year). So, my friend asked me and a few close mutual friends about our opinions towards naming a baby boy Texas.

    Our opinions: We believe that name is only going to ruin that poor kid. Can you imagine if he becomes the butt of all jokes because one mother’s dumb name choice where the kids at primary and high school would say “Where’s Texas?”, “Texas is in America” or worse of all, “Taxes? I paid all my taxes, you name it. Income tax and road tax”. I am not surprised if that boy turns 18 and decides to change his name by deed poll no thanks to his mother. But then again, if he was born a girl, I wouldn’t be surprised if she was named worse by the mother.

    Names do make or break a child and his/her self esteem. I don’t find exotic-sounding names all that nice and I am sort of old school too. My favourite names for girls are Sophie, Anna, Leonora, Gemma, Emily, and Amelia. As for the boys, George, Harry, Paul, Patrick, Stephen and Lawrence. I don’t mind Frederick and Magdalene either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

