Want new Readers for your Blog?

WordPress 2.1 write screen

Image by Tom Raftery via Flickr

We all want someone to read our musings. They are important to us. In the beginning, we are not sure we want anyone to read our stuff. After we get accustomed to writing more, we want someone to enjoy what we have to say. That first person that subscribes to our blog is so exciting! To find new readers for my blog I looked at the posters on Blog a day and signed up for a few. Some reciprocate and read your blogs when you read theirs. Later, I just wanted to get a little better at writing and at forming my thoughts into sentences, so I began reading other blogs just to learn how to write better. I picked subjects I liked, such as writing, blogging, or Christianity to read. Not only did I find many really interesting bloggers, when I signed up for their blog, they took a peek at mine and most signed up in exchange. Very cool. It is great to know the blogging/writing community here on WordPress is loyal and supportive to each other! I love that! So thanks for the support! Everyone keep on blogging! I’m enjoying myself and hope you are too!

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Want new Readers for your Blog?

  1. Give and get, I believe the saying goes. Show others that you care about them and they’ll do the same for you, even about things like blogs, which may seem so simple and insignificant to some.
    You brought up a good point in this and I hope more people have your attitude! It’s a great way to think, because in the end you give to others who may long for more readers, while receiving more for yourself, as well.

    Like

  2. Karen says:

    I am one of the people whom you searched out, and when I checked out your site, I enjoyed what you had to say, so I reciprocated. It certainly does increase your reader base, but also creates new friendships in the process.

    Like

  3. Great advice, Esther! During my first week of blogging every new subscriber thrilled me. Post a thoughtful comment to another person’s blog and they’ll often reciprocate with a comment on your own. Likewise with subscriptions. It’s all a fun experiment!

    Like

  4. cheri says:

    Esther – thanks for visiting my blog. I have book-marked yours and will return often.

    Keep blogging!

    Like

  5. Stephanie says:

    I’m in the beginning stage- I’m not sure I want anyone reading my blog! LOL! What is Blog a day? How did you find my blog?

    Like

    • estherlou says:

      There are 2 groups you can sign up under just to get yourself motivated to write regularly. One is to write a blog every day and one is to write a blog once a week. I wanted new blogs to read, so I went under tags of things I’m interested and began reading blogs. That’s how I found you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

