5 random facts about me, the April 2011 Pig and Pepper

The original starship Enterprise

Image via Wikipedia

5 random facts about me, the April 2011 edition | Pig and Pepper

This blog had an interesting subject. It got me to thinking. Do I even have 5 things about myself that others don’t know and that I am willing to share? Hmm…I tend to be a very private person and only share what I want to share with co-workers. I share a lot of my life with one certain person at work, but even so…I am a person who doesn’t share just anything and everything easily. I was told to never “wash your dirty laundry in public”. In other words, there are always things that need to remain private and within your family circle.  Let me think. There must be other things, innocuous things that others don’t know that I can share. let’s see…

 1. I used to make rosaries to send to missions.  I enjoyed sending them all over the US and to other countries. And then the arthritis in my wrists caused too much pain and prevented me from making rosaries.

2. I used to sing. Who hasn’t? you ask? I mean, I used to sing opera. I even was hired to sing with the Symphony once. When I was young, I wanted to make my living singing. I majored in music and minored in art. I ended up being a cake decorator for the past 30 years. It enabled me to use that creative streak within. Later in life, I dabbled in painting again. The love of singing remains. I love listening to Christian radio and enjoy Country Music videos. Contrasts, right?

3. I’m a Star Trek fan. I watched the original series,  the Next Generation, Voyager, and Deep Space Nine. I watched every Star Trek movie that ever came out. I read Star Trek books in all 4 series voraciously for many years. Next best, was Stargate SG1. I watched it for the entire 10 years it was on tv and continue to watch the re-runs now. I mean, it was McGyver after all!

4. I like to write. I dabbled in poetry off and on over the years, and tried my hand at articles. Then, I discovered blogging. Hmm…since you are reading this, perhaps this one doesn’t count.

5. At 59, I discovered Harvest Moon and various other wii games. I found them to be quite addictive! It seems I have an obsessive/compulsive personality. It can be playing the wii for hours on end; or spending a weekend watching a marathon of NCIS or some other favorite program.

6. I’ve always been a cat person.  l like their independence. I like that they bathe themselves. I like that they don’t bay all night, they don’t jump up and down, and they don’t slobber. I like the sound of a satisfied purr. I like that I don’t have to take them for walks to keep them happy. They are satisfied with a good rub and a cat toy.

What is there about you that everyone doesn’t know? What are you willing to share?

About estherlou

My husband and I married in 1970. I am the mother of 2 and grandmother to 5. I am a retired wedding cake decorator. I like watching Netflix on the Wii. I am catching up on all of the old tv shows I missed when they were on prime time! Right now though, I am reading and writing blogs, watching tv, making jewelry and rosaries, selling in my Etsy store and playing solitaire. I am home bound and add in my physical therapy exercises to my daily routine. I will blog about my progress or anything that catches my attention at that moment. See you around and thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5 random facts about me, the April 2011 Pig and Pepper

  1. gloryteller says:

    Hi fellow Trekkie.
    Ok, you subscribed so I subscribed. That’s the way it should work!
    Blessings for you and your “Britesite”
    Len

    Like

  2. pbus1 says:

    Hello Estherlou,

    You have a very interesting blog. The topics you have chosen to expound upon, are attention grabbers. I will definitely have to stop by, once in a while, to take a peek at what’s going on, on your page.

    I stopped by, to thank you for subscribing to my blog. It’s always a humbling experience, when someone decides they are interested enough in what I’m writing, to subscribe. I will continue to seek the Lord, as to what I should post. I hope you will continue to visit. Please feel free to leave a comment, every once in a while. That’s always encouraging to me. God bless you, and thank you, again! Also, keep up the great work here!

    Paulette

    Like

    • estherlou says:

      I’ve been browsing new blogs to see what others write and to learn more about writing itself. Thanks for the compliments. I try to write about interesting things. Sometimes they are just what I find intriguing at the moment. I don’t always leave comments, but if I like a blog, you’ll see my picture at the bottom. I’ll stop by every time you post a new blog. See you around.

      Like

Leave a Reply

